Gamer Update #14: The Last of Us (PS3)

If you’ve been reading my blog lately, you know that I got The Last of Us on PS3 for Christmas. Well, I just recently beat the game and there‘s one question I have been asking myself – why the heck did I not play this game sooner?

The Last of Us PS3

Man, The Last of Us is one amazing game.  As many of you know out there, this game was developed by Naughty Dog, the developers of the three Uncharted games for Playstation 3. I have played all three of these Uncharted games and I really like them, but I liked The Last of Us way better.

I really love the whole “Fallout 3 meets The Walking Dead” vibe that The Last of Us has. Some parts of the game did remind me of the Uncharted games, such as when you needed boost the other character up to reach a ladder or something. You can also play the game using stealth, which reminded me a lot of Splinter Cell.

The Last of Us has a touching story as well, with very memorable characters. Ashley Johnson did a great job as Ellie. I did think that her constant swearing was kind of gratuitous, but it was funny too.

However, I’m really impressed with Troy Baker, who did the voice of the main protagonist, Joel. I’ve heard his voice work before, when he voiced younger dudes in games like Tales of Vesperia, Final Fantasy XIII, and Catherine. I wasn’t sure if he could pull off voicing an older, more mature character like Joel, but Baker knocked it out of the park! Well done!

As for the combat and shooting in The Last of Us, I do think that it felt somewhat clunky. I wasn’t a huge fan of the combat at the beginning, but as the game went on and I got new weapons and upgraded my character and weapons, I had a bit more appreciation for the combat. I still think combat and shooting feel a little bit clunky, but I think the developers made it like that on purpose.

That’s because I don’t think the developers wanted you to go in “All Guns Blazing!” in The Last of Us. I mean, you could do that, but combat would just be more harder. You are given limited resources and ammo, so ideally, you’re supposed to take down your enemies unseen one by one (or do this as much as possible before shooting up the place).

Therefore this made most of the battles with the enemies more intense and it made more gratifying when you succeed. Man, I remember this one battle where I had very few ammo and items. I had to take it slow and use some good strategy. I had to make sure every shot I took and every weapon I used counted. When it was over and I won the battle without dying, it felt very rewarding.

Of course, on the flip side, if things don’t go your way in combat, it can get annoying and frustrating.

But overall, I love playing The Last of Us. In fact, I enjoyed it so much that if I get a Playstation 4, I just might get The Last of Us Remastered for PS4.

This entry was posted in PS3 Games, Videogames and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

