Movies I Watched Recently #22: Elf

With Christmas just a few days away, I decided to watch another Christmas film. This time I watched Elf, a movie I just bought on DVD a few days ago. This is only the second time I watched this film. The first time that I watched it was 12 years ago when it opened in theaters back in 2003 (I saw it either the opening weekend or the next week).

Elf DVD

Since it has been over a decade since I last watched this film, there were a few things that I didn’t remember. Like I didn’t remember that Jon Favreau directed this movie. So it was a nice surprise to see his name as the director in the opening credits. Yes, the Jon Favreau who directed Elf is also the same one who directed the first two Iron Man movies starring Robert Downey Jr.

One thing that I never forgot is Zooey Deschanel’s scene where she sings in the bathroom of the department store. But what I didn’t remember is that she was a blonde in this movie! She’s been a brunette for the longest time that it was a bit of a surprise to see her as a blonde but she does look good as a blonde. In fact, she looked super cute. I believe this is the first movie (or TV show) that I saw her in and she made a great first impression.

Anyway, I loved this movie the first time I saw it back in 2003 and I don’t know why I haven’t seen this film more. Perhaps, there were just other Christmas movies that I was more concerned with watching…?

But after watching this film a second time, I definitely wished I had seen this film more times throughout the years.

Watching it now, I’m reminded that Elf is an absolutely hilarious movie. Will Ferrell movies can be kind of hit or miss with me in terms of whether I find them to be funny or not, but he is definitely funny here as the title character. James Caan is also great here as well.

I love seeing Faizon Love in this film (he plays the department store manager).. He was very funny. I remember watching him on a TV sitcom in the 90s. I looked it up and I think the show is The Parent’ Hood.

Overall, this film is a definite Christmas classic to me. Yeah, the film can be cheesy at times, but it is funny and has a lot of heart. I can see myself watching this film around Christmas time many times in the future.

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

This entry was posted in Christmas, Films, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

