Movies I Watched Recently #21: Fred Claus

We’ve been having a lot of mild winter weather lately, so to get myself into the “holiday mood,” the other night I sat down and I watched Fred Claus on DVD.

Vince Vaughn stars as the title character, Fred Claus, who is the brother of Santa Claus, played by Paul Giamatti. Kevin Spacey, Rachel Weisz, Elizabeth Banks, Kathy Bates, and Miranda Richardson are also in the film.

Fred Claus DVD

While there are a few really funny moments, unfortunately the film is not as consistently funny as I would have like. But despite this, I did enjoy watching the film and I can see it becoming a guilty pleasure of mine.

The movie does have some good things going for it. There are some good messages in the film, such as every kid deserves a present on Christmas. It doesn’t matter if they’re “naughty or nice”. I also like the way they handled the “villain” in the movie. Normally you would see the villain “get beaten” and then get punished somehow, but not here.

I also have to mention this: Elizabeth Banks looks super hot in this movie! She wears an outfit that shows off some great cleavage. Wow!

Like I state above, I enjoyed watching this movie, but I’m not sure if I can recommend this film to anyone.  I can’t help but think that if this movie had a better script and some more funnier lines/gags, then it would be a classic Christmas movie for me. But as is, it just might be a guilty pleasure.

This entry was posted in Christmas, DVD, DVDs, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

