The Hunt for Playstation Vita Games, Part 1 (I also picked up Disney Infinity and Lightning Returns Final Fantasy XIII)

Before I got my Playstation Vita system, for the longest time, there were only three PS Vita games that were must haves for me. Those three games are Uncharted: Golden Abyss, Persona 4: Golden, and Killzone: Mercenary. One of these games, Persona 4, has already been on the PS2.

After I got my Playstation Vita system, which I talked about in my “Videogame Shopping Trip Report #25” blog post, I decided to look up and do more research on PS Vita games. I found some games that I wanted to get, and then there were some games that I would only get if I found them for cheap prices.

With that done, I headed out to the local stores, looking for Playstation Vita games!

The first place I stopped at was Walmart. Before looking for Playstation Vita games, I saw that they had Disney Infinity Starter Pack for the PS3 in stock, and I had wanted to get this item as a Christmas gift for my cousin’s kids, since they are huge fans of Disney. Yes, I know that this is last year’s version and there is a newer Disney Infinity 2.0 that was released this year, but since my cousin’s kids did not have the first Disney Infinity, I figure I’d get them this one first.

Disney Infinity Starter Pack PS3

As for Playstation Vita games, this Walmart didn’t have very many titles in stock, but they did have a copy of Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster. This was the only store in my area (besides Gamestop) that has a copy of this game, but the game has the full retail price of $40. Yeah, I know I could have gotten this game cheaper at Amazon or Gamestop, but I didn’t feel like ordering it online and I’m not a huge fan of Gamestop, as many of you who have been reading my blog know. So I bought this game at this Walmart.

For those who don’t know, while the PS3 version of Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster has both Final Fantasy X and Final Fantasy X-2 on the disc, the PS Vita version only has Final Fantasy X HD on the game card. You are given a code to download Final Fantasy X-2 HD from PSN. Which means that you also need a memory card with enough space to download the game, which is over 3 GB. This sucks but I do have a 4 GB memory card with nothing on it, so hopefully this download fits on it.

Anyway, I also saw that this Walmart had a copy of Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII for PS3 for $20, so I decided to get it. This game is the third game in the Final Fantasy XIII series. I’m not the biggest fan of the Final Fantasy XIII games, but I do like them, so I’m eager to see how the series ends (I think this is the last game in the FF XIII series).

Next I headed to a Best Buy store and I got two more Vita games here: Freedom Wars and Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time.

I think Freedom Wars was $29.99, and it’s been unofficially touted as the Vita’s last AAA game (although I’m not completely sure if people consider this game to be a AAA game). I didn’t expect to get this game this soon, but I figured since I was going to get this game anyway, I might as well pick it up now.

I already have the PS3 version of Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time and I believe that it comes with a downloadable version of the Vita version of the game. However, when I saw a physical copy of the Vita version for only $9.99, I couldn’t resist. I’ll probably trade or give my downloadable version to a family member or friend.

I also saw SSX for the PS3 on clearance for $11 and decided to get it. This is a game I’ve wanted to get for a while now, and there were several times that I almost bought it when I saw it for $19.99 at other stores. I’m glad I waited.

And finally, I decided to pick up a copy of The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D for the 3DS. The game was at full retail price of $39.99, but I decided to get it in case Nintendo decides to stop production of the game and it becomes really hard to find. I also want to get Bravely Default and Fire Emblem: Awakening soon, for the same reasons.

Below is a picture of the six games I got from Walmart and Best Buy.

Lightning Returns FF 13, SSX, Zelda Ocarina of Time, Final Fantasy X X-2 HD Remaster, Freedom Wars, Sly Cooper Thieves in Time

This entry was posted in Best Buy, Videogames, Walmart and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

