Movies I Watched Recently #19: The Matrix (1999)

Recently I was at a Best Buy store and saw that they had this The Matrix Collection DVD set on sale for $6.99 This set comes with The Matrix, The Matrix Reloaded, The Matrix Revolutions, and Animatrix. I thought that $6.99 was a pretty good price for this DVD set, so I decided to buy it.

I was expecting to find only two discs in this DVD set, with two movies on one disc, but when I got home and opened it, lo and behold, I found four discs stacked on each other, so each movie on its own disc. I thought that was pretty cool. I’d rather have it like this anyway.

The Matrix Collection DVD

The Matrix DVD

The Matrix Reloaded DVD

The Matrix Revolutions DVD

Animatrix

The first movie that I watched from this set is, of course, the first film in the franchise, The Matrix, originally released in 1999.

I love The Matrix and I love the second film, The Matrix Reloaded, even more. I have watched both films multiple times in the past (I think I watched both films more than 6 times each). However I was extremely disappointed with the third film, The Matrix Revolutions. I thought it was a pretty good movie, but I also thought that it would be better than the second film, and it was not.

I have not seen Animatrix. For those who don’t know, Animatrix is a compilation of nine animated shorts, with four of them directed by the Wachowskis, the directors of the three Matrix films. I believe a lot of the animation (if not all of the animation) were handled by animators in Japan.

When first film in the series, The Matrix, was first released on DVD, it was at a time when DVD was cutting edge technology. If you had a DVD player back then, The Matrix was the movie to show off your DVD player.

The first time I watched The Matrix, I was really immersed in the film’s story and universe. Prior to the film’s release, I remember watching commercials for it and Lawrence Fishburne would say “Unfortunately, no one can be told what the Matrix is. You have to see it for yourself.” So as I was watching the movie, I was eager to see how the story unfolded and was interested to find out what would happen next.

At that time I thought that The Matrix was highly original film. After reading up the movie, apparently there were several things that influenced the movie, including Plato’s Allegory of the Cave and Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, along with anime and martial arts films. Still, I really like the concepts and story ideas that were in The Matrix.

I love the look and feel of the sets and environments when the characters were in the “modern day” city. The rooftops, the inside of the old buildings, the streets, etc… all looked cool.

I also like the now iconic look of the characters themselves – the black outfits and sunglasses.

The action scenes are really cool and highly stylish. My favorite action scene is the one in the lobby near the end of the film. Oh man, that was so cool!

Next I will watch The Matrix Reloaded.

This entry was posted in Best Buy, DVDs, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

