Videogame Shopping Trip Report #25: Finally Bought a Playstation Vita system! (plus some Vita games!)

In the past I have stated that I have been hesitant to buy a Playstation Vita system for two main reasons. First, not counting any PSP and PS1 games you can download from PSN, there aren’t a lot of games available for the system, especially when you compare it to the Nintendo 3DS. And it looks like there aren’t going to be very many AAA titles in development for the Vita.

The second reason is that I still think the memory cards for the Vita are too expensive, even after Sony cut the price of these cards.

But despite all that, recently I finally decided that I would get a Playstation Vita system. So I went and bought the Playstation Vita Borderlands 2 bundle from Meijer. I figured that this bundle has some pretty good value. For $200, you not only get the Vita system, you also get Borderlands 2 and an 8 GB memory card. The Vita version of Borderlands 2 normally costs $39.99 and an 8 GB memory card is about $30.

PS VIta Boderlands 2 Bundle, 4 GB Memory Card

If you have been reading my blog, you know that I have been playing Borderlands 2 on my PS3. A cool feature of both the PS3 and Vita versions of Borderlands 2 is the Cross Save feature, which allows you to import a save from the PS3 version of the game to the Vita version and vice versa. The only caveat is that you have to be connected to the internet and signed into PSN in order to import your save.

At first I was thinking that I was not going to use this Cross Save feature. I was going to start a brand new game on my Vita. But now that I have given it more thought, I think I will import my PS3 save to my Vita.

Anyway, when I told a friend of mine that I was getting a Playstation Vita system, he told me that he noticed that his local Meijer store had a 4 GB memory card for the Vita on clearance for $7.49 and asked me if I wanted it. I told him to go ahead and pick it up for me. So the 4 GB memory card that you see in the picture above is the one he got for me.

As I stated above, this Playstation Vita bundle comes with an 8 GB memory card, which is pretty cool. But the Borderlands 2 game that comes with the system is the digital version that you have to download. This version of Borderlands 2 also comes with 6 DLC add-ons that you can also download (although you don’t have to). If you download the game and the 6 DLC add-ons, it will be about 6 GB, so you will use up most of the 8 GB memory card.

A 4 GB memory card is also nice. However, I have about 15-20 PS1 games that I have bought from the PSN store. I have already downloaded them to my PS3, but I want to download most of them (if not all of them) to my PS Vita. While most of the PS1 games I have do have small file sizes, I have games like Final Fantasy VII, VIII, and IX, and each one of those three games are over 1 GB (I believe Final Fantasy VIII, which has 4 discs when it was originally released for the Playstation, is close to 2 GB).

Other downloadable PS1 games I have are Castlevania: Symphony of the Night, Legend of Dragoon, Wild Arms, Grandia, and Persona 2: Eternal Punishment.

I also have four digital PSP games to download from PSN. Two of them, Pursuit Force and Killzone: Liberation, I got for free in 2011 as part of Sony’s “Welcome Back” package. Valhalla Knights is another game I got for free when it was offered for free from the PSN store a while back.

The fourth PSP game is Crimson Gem Saga. I bought it when it was on sale for about $8. This game is an RPG that a lot of my friends have recommended to me, but I never saw the game in my local stores when it was first released, otherwise I would have bought the physical version. So when I saw it on sale for $8 on the PSN store, I decided to get buy it, knowing that I would someday download it to a Vita (or to my PSP, if I ended up never buying a Vita).

With all these downloadable digital games, a 4 GB memory card just wouldn’t cut it.

So I looked on Amazon and saw that they had a 16 GB memory card on sale for a little over $30. I saw this exact 16 GB memory card for $60 at Best Buy, so I decided to get this memory card from Amazon. While I was at it, I also decided to get four Vita games from Amazon as well. I got Persona 4 Golden, Conception II (with the Soundtrack CD), Resistance: Burning Skies, and Hyperdimension Neptunia: Producing Perfection.

Resistance Burning Skies, Hyperdimension Neptunia PP, Persona 4 Golden,Conception II, 16 GB Memory Card

Persona 4 Golden and Conception II are JRPGs, while Resistance: Burning Skies is a FPS. I believe Hyperdimension Neptunia: Producing Perfection is a sim with some music rhythm game elements.

As for future Vita games, I do have some titles on my “to get“ list, including Killzone: Mercenary, Soul Sacrifice, Ragnarok Odyssey Ace, and Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster. I also want to get some of the Lego games as well.

This entry was posted in Playstation Vita, Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

