Movies I Watched Recently #17: The Mummy (1999)

Back in 1999 I was fortunate enough to be able to watch The Mummy, starring Brendan Fraser and Rachel Weisz, the weekend that the movie opened in theaters. Two years later, in 2001, I was also able to watch the sequel The Mummy Returns on its opening weekend.

While I liked The Mummy, I thought that the second film was WAY better than the first film. I have only watched the first film one time (that one time at the theater), while I have watched the second film multiple times (I use to have this movie on DVD).

Despite liking The Mummy Returns a lot, when the third Mummy movie, Tomb of the Dragon Emperor, opened in theaters in 2008, I had very little interest in watching this film, because I knew that Rachel Weisz was not in it. So I have not seen this third Mummy film.

Anyway, recently I was at a Walmart store and saw that there was a DVD set called The Mummy Trilogy. This set has all three Mummy movies (but it doesn’t have The Scorpion King movies). It was $9.99 for all three films, so I decided to buy this set.

The Mummy Trilogy DVD

The set comes with three DVDs, so each movie is on its own disc. All three movies are presented in anamorphic widescreen format.

I think $10 for all three Mummy movies on DVD is a good deal. The DVDs are lacking in special features, but if you aren’t interested in special features and only want to watch the movies on DVD, then this DVD set is for you.

The first movie from this set that I watched is, of course, the first film, The Mummy from 1999. As I stated above, I have only watched this movie once. After watching this film a second time, I was a little bit surprised to find that I really enjoyed watching this film more than the first time I watched it back in 1999. Man, now I wished I had watched this movie more in the past.

When I originally watched The Mummy in theaters in 1999, I think I found the movie to be really slow and boring at times. I did think that Brendan Fraser and Rachel Weisz were good in their roles and they have great on-screen chemistry.

I’ve been a fan of Fraser since 1992’s Encino Man and I liked his 1997 movie George of the Jungle (and I’m not ashamed to admit that, haha!). So for The Mummy, I thought he was perfect in the role of Rick the adventurer.

Prior to The Mummy, I had only seen Weisz in one other movie, and that was 1996’s Chain Reaction with Keanu Reeves. Chain Reaction is a PG-13 action movie that the critics didn’t like very much but I liked it. When I heard that Weisz would be in The Mummy, I was curious to see what her character would be like.

It turns out that in The Mummy I liked how the film makers introduced her character, the clumsy librarian Evelyn, with her in the library trying to place the books on the tall book shelves. That was the perfect introduction. Evelyn, just like Fraser’s character Rick, ends up being extremely likable.

Like I stated above, the first time I watched The Mummy, I think that I thought the movie was really slow and boring at times, even though I liked the movie.

This second time watching the film was more enjoyable, for a couple of reasons. I enjoyed watching the action scenes and the gun shooting scenes a lot more, although I still think the second movie has the better action scenes.

I also enjoyed the romance between Rick and Evelyn more. Yeah, I liked it the first time I saw the film, but I think I like more this time. Like I said, Fraser and Weisz have great chemistry.

I also found the character Beni, played by Kevin J. O’Connor, to be absolutely hilarious! This guy practically steals every scene that he is in. I can’t remember if I thought he was hilarious the first time I watched this film.

I also thought that the prison warden character, played by Omid Djalili, was funny as well.

Alright, so the next movie from this set that I will watch is the next movie in the trilogy, 2001’s The Mummy Returns. Can’t wait!

This entry was posted in DVDs, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

