Videogame Shopping Trip Report #24: PS3 Games from Meijer (Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix, DmC Devil May Cry, Lost Planet 3, and Minecraft)

Man, the winter weather came much quicker this year than I expected. A few days ago I went to a Meijer store. When I entered the store a few snow flakes had just started falling. When I left the store about 25 minutes later, it had turned into a full fledged snow storm! I wasn’t too far from home but traffic was very slow. Luckily I made it home safely.

Anyway, from Meijer I picked up four PS3 games. They are Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix, DmC: Devil May Cry, Lost Planet 3, and Minecraft. Each game was $19.99

Kingdom Hearts 1.5 Remix DMC PS3

Lost Planet 3 Minecraft PS3

I wasn’t sure if Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix would ever hit the $20 price point, so when I saw it for $19.99, I knew I had to get it. As I have mentioned before in previous blog posts, I am a huge fan of the Kingdom Hearts games. Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix contains HD versions of the original Kingdom Hearts game and Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories. The version of the first Kingdom Hearts game included here is the Final Mix version, which was previously released in Japan only and has some additional content.

The cutscenes from Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days, a game originally released for the DS, are included in this collection as well. I’m not sure why they only included the cutscenes and not the entire game… Oh well, I do have this game for my DS, so if I want to play it, I’ll just have to play it on my DS.

DmC: Devil May Cry is, of course, the 2013 reboot of the Devil May Cry series. When I first heard that the series would get rebooted, I wasn’t sure how I would feel about it. But then DmC: Devil May Cry got released and it kind of surprised me by getting good reviews. My friends really like this game as well. So I’m curious to try it out.

I liked playing the single player campaign in the original Lost Planet, but was really disappointed with Lost Planet 2 because it lacked a good, focused story driven campaign that the first game had. Lost Planet 3 looks like it’s going to return to the story driven campaign roots of the first game. So far I like what I have seen in the trailers for this game.

I remember when Microsoft bought the Minecraft IP (along with the developer Mojang) people were concerned that they would just stop supporting Minecraft on non-xbox systems. Of course, Microsoft themselves have stated that they would continue to support Minecraft on other platforms including Sony consoles. Still, while highly unlikely, they could change their minds and cease production of Minecraft for Playstation systems, so when I saw this copy of Minecraft for PS3, I decided that now was the time to pick this game up.

This entry was posted in PS3 Games, Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

