Movies I Watched Recently #15: The Addams Family (1991)

The Addams Family DVD

As a youngster in the 90s my family rented this movie, The Addams Family, and its sequel, Addams Family Values, from a local video rental store. I remember not liking the first movie very much but I did like the second movie.

Granted, at that time I was not familiar with the TV series, so perhaps if I had watched the TV show, maybe I would have had a better experience when I watched the first movie.

But while I had not seen the TV show, I did listen to the song “Addams Groove” by MC Hammer, and this song got quite a bit of play on the radio during the early 90s. At that time I believe MC Hammer had changed his name from “MC Hammer” to just “Hammer” but I think he has since changed it back to “MC Hammer”. But I’m not sure (haha!).

Anyway, the song “Addams Groove” did describe the Addams Family a little bit and mentioned how weird they are. So I knew that the Addams Family was a somewhat weird family before watching the movie.

Yeah, I’m not ashamed to admit (haha!) that as a kid I was a pretty big fan of MC Hammer and really enjoyed listening to his songs on the radio – songs like “U Can’t Touch This” and “Too Legit To Quit” (haha!).

So anyway, if I did not The Addams Family movie very much as a kid, would I like this movie now as an adult…? Well, I decided to find that out, so a few nights ago I sat down and watched this movie.

First off, the movie is a comedy, but unfortunately I didn’t find most of the jokes and antics in the movie to be funny. In fact, you have to have a certain mindset in order to appreciate the movie’s very offbeat humor. While I do like offbeat humor, I just didn’t find myself laughing very much while watching this movie. When I watched this movie as a kid, I don’t think I laughed a lot either, so back then I must have thought that the movie was boring at times.

However, while I didn’t find most of the movie to be funny, that doesn’t mean that I found the movie to be completely empty of laughs. One of the funniest parts of the movie is when Pugsley and Wednesday acted out their parts in the school play. This was super hilarious!

Right before that the movie showed the family entering the school and the teacher was showing the mom (Morticia) a wall with pictures of individuals that her classroom children thought of as heroes. I laughed pretty hard when I saw a picture of Jordan Knight from New Kids on the Block (haha!). Me personally – I would have chosen Donnie Wahlberg (haha!).

So despite not finding the movie to be very funny, I did end up enjoying the movie. I really liked the “gothic look” of the movie. They did a great job with the makeup, the outfits, the sets, and the atmosphere.

By the end of the movie, I found the entire Addams Family (not including distant relatives, since they had a very small amount of screen time) to be extremely likable. It was easy for me to root for the Addams Family when they had to go through the things that they went through in the movie.

Yeah, they’re weird, they like to march to their own drumbeat, and despite the fact that they sometimes torture each other (and I mean that literally), it’s very clear in the end that they do genuinely love each other.

I did not laugh very much while watching the film, but the movie did make me smile a lot. The movie had a lot of charm, and heart as well. I couldn’t help but smile.

This entry was posted in DVDs, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

