Movies I Watched Recently #11: Friday the 13th Part VI Jason Lives (1986)

Friday the 13th Part 5 and 6 DVD 2-pack

In my last blog post, I stated that Friday the 13th Part V: A New Beginning is one of my favorites in the film series. Well, the next one in the series, Friday the 13th Part VI: Jason Lives, also happens to be one of my faves.

First of all, in Friday the 13th Part VI: Jason Lives there is a return to the camp setting and I had really missed this setting. The first two Friday the 13th movies had the camp setting but the third, fourth, and fifth films did not.

Second, there’s a neat little subplot involving a little girl at the camp. In fact, having kids at the camp really added another dimension to the film. It made you root even harder for the good guys to stop Jason.

Friday the 13th Part VI: Jason Lives also has a cute little love story (yeah, I never thought I would use those words to describe a Friday the 13th movie, haha!). This gave the movie a different tone than the other Friday the 13th films. It was a real nice change of pace.

As for the Special Features, just like other Friday the 13th DVDs, this one has a commentary from the director, cast, and crew.

The series of shorts called Lost Tales from Camp Blood is continued here, as this DVD has Part VI. Like I mentioned before, these shorts are pretty interesting, and I’m curious as to how the story will carry on in the next episode.

Jason Lives: The Making of Friday the 13th, Part VI has interviews with the director, cast, and crew. Here the director talks about his approach to making this film. I found this pretty interesting, since I always wondered why this film had a different tone than the other ones. There’s also some talk about how the MPAA, once again, told them to cut out some of the content for an R-rated release.

Luckily, some of that cut content can be seen in the featurette called Slashed Scenes. The video quality here is really bad though. But I am glad and appreciative that they included this footage on the DVD.

Meeting Mr. Voorhees is a pretty cool feature. Here the director tells us about a scene that was originally suppose to take place at (or near) the end of the film. He shows us this scene via storyboards, since the scene was never filmed. It would have been nice to hear the director say why the scene was left out, but the director doesn’t mention the reasons for why the scene was never filmed.

Once again, there’s the third part of The Crystal Lakes Massacres Revisited here on this DVD. This is the fake documentary thing I mentioned in my previous blog posts. I wasn’t interested in watching Part II on the last DVD, so I didn’t watch Part III.

The theatrical trailer included here is a very short teaser trailer with pretty cool footage that is not in the film itself and it’s possible that this footage was shot just for the trailer. And finally this DVD has the same exact trailer for the 2009 film The Univited that was included in the previous two Friday the 13th DVDs. I guess they really want me to see this movie! (haha!)

This entry was posted in DVDs, Friday the 13th Movies, Horror Movies, Movies, Slasher Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

