Movies I Watched Recently #10: Friday the 13th Part V A New Beginning (1985)

The previous movie is titled Friday the 13th: The Final Chapter. That movie was meant to be the absolute last Friday the 13th movie ever…

… But I guess that movie was just so profitable that they had to make another movie. This film is called Friday the 13th Part V: A New Beginning.

Friday the 13th Part 5 and 6 DVD 2-pack

I always wondered when the decision was made to make another Friday the 13th movie. I’m guessing they didn’t wait too long after Friday the 13th: The Final Chapter opened in theaters, because Friday the 13th Part V: A New Beginning was released just one year later.

Anyway, back in the day I remember Friday the 13th Part V: A New Beginning being one of my favorites in the series. The first time I watched the movie, it was a very pleasant surprise for me to see a cameo at the beginning of the film from someone who had starred in the previous Friday the 13th movie.

I would have liked it if this person had an expanded starring role in film, instead of just having a cameo. I always wondered if the film makers had originally wanted this person to have a starring role in Friday the 13th Part V: A New Beginning and this person couldn’t commit or if they had always intended this person to just have a cameo role.

I have since found out that this person, indeed, was supposed to be star of the film, but this person was already committed to another movie.

One of the reasons why I consider Friday the 13th Part V: A New Beginning to be one of my faves is that I found the main character, played by John Shepherd, to be a very likeable character. He is probably my favorite character in the entire series. I also like the character Pam played by Melanie Kinnaman.

One of my favorite scenes (and also one of the cheesiest scenes) in the movie is a scene where a guy and his girlfriend start singing, right after she played a prank on him. This scene is just classic.

Another one of my favorite scenes is the nude scene with Debi Sue Voorhees (yes, she has the same last name as the main villain of the Friday the 13th movies). This is probably my favorite nude scene of all the Friday the 13th/Jason movies.

I also liked how at the end of the film there’s good and logical explanation of why the murders occurred in the film.

Special Features on the DVD include a commentary from the (now deceased) director Danny Steinmann with the cast and crew. Just like the other commentaries from the previous Friday the 13th DVDs, I have not listened to this one.

There’s also Tales from Camp Blood Part V, which is the fifth episode in these series of shorts. While I find these little shorts to be nothing special, surprisingly I have found myself getting into them and I am interested in what happens next.

New Beginnings: The Making of Friday the 13th Part V A New Beginning has interviews with the director and some of the cast and crew. At one point someone starts to make fun of Tom Savini, who didn’t do the makeup for this film but did work on some of the previous films. What happens next is hilarious.

They also mentioned that they were in a battle with the MPAA, who forced them to cut out some of the content out to get an R rating. I hope that one day they are able to put all (or at least some of) the cut footage back into this film, even if the audio for the cut footage is lost.

I’m guessing that The Crystal Lake Massacres Revisited Part II is the second part of the fake documentary that, if it’s like Part I from the previous DVD, interviews people as if the events in the Friday the 13th movies happened for real. I didn’t find Part I to be very interesting, so I didn’t watch Part II.

Lastly there’s the original trailer for the film, and there’s also a trailer for the 2009 movie The Uninvited, which is the same trailer that was placed in the DVD for the previous Friday the 13th film.

This entry was posted in DVDs, Friday the 13th Movies, Horror Movies, Movies, Slasher Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

