Movies I Watched Recently #8: Friday the 13th Part 3 (1982)

Unlike the previous film, Friday the 13th Part 2, which I watched multiple times, I have only watched Friday the 13th Part 3 once, prior to watching it again a couple of nights ago.

Friday the 13th Part 3 was originally released theatrically in 3D in 1982. This DVD 2-pack that I own does have this 3D version of this film, along with the 2D version. So therefore, it also comes with these awesome 3D glasses (haha!), as seen in the picture below.

Friday the 13th Part 3 and 4 DVD 2-pack (with 3D glasses)

Friday the 13th Part 3 DVD Main Menu

Since I have watched Friday the 13th Part 3 only once several years ago, I don’t remember very much about the movie. So watching it on DVD now, the movie felt fresh to me. In case you’re wondering, I watched the 2D version.

For this third Friday the 13th movie, the film makers decided to shake things up a bit by not having camp councilors like the first two films. Instead, this movie has a group of young adults going to a cabin and ranch owned by (or perhaps used to be owned by) one of them.

While this film does not stray too far from the formula of the first two films, it’s somewhat refreshing to see that this movie doesn’t have yet another group of camp councilors.

I was also glad to see that the kills were more violent and bloodier than in the previous film. I mentioned in the last blog post that the kills in Friday the 13th Part 2 were toned down. Well, this time they showed a bit more blood and gore. I really enjoyed the kill with eyeball popping out (haha!). That was a great kill.

Okay, now unlike the two DVDs for the two previous films, this Friday the 13th Part 3 DVD is surprisingly very light on special features. In fact, the only special feature it has is a theatrical trailer.

But perhaps the reason for this is that the DVD contains 2 full-length versions of the movie. It has both the 2D version and 3D version of Friday the 13th Part 3, so because of this, maybe there wasn’t enough space on the DVD disc for more special features.

But while I’m sure the 3D effects look cool, I would have preferred that they not include a 3D version of the movie and put some more special features into the DVD.

However, despite my disappointment with lack of special features, I really enjoyed watching Friday the 13th Part 3. It’s another good entry in the series for me.

This entry was posted in DVDs, Friday the 13th, Friday the 13th Movies, Horror Movies, Movies, Slasher Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

