Movies I Watched Recently #7: Friday the 13th Part 2 (1981)

As I have mentioned before on my blog, I never watched the first Friday the 13th movie until recently. That’s 34 years after the film was originally released. I have also mentioned that Jason Goes To Hell: The Final Friday is the first Friday the 13th/Jason movie that I ever watched.

Well, in case you’re wondering what is the second Friday the 13th/Jason movie I ever watched, it is Friday the 13th Part 2.

Friday the 13th 1 and 2 DVD 2-pack

Several years ago, after watching Jason Goes To Hell: The Final Friday, which is the ninth movie in the series, I decided to go back and watch some of the older films. Instead of starting with the first film from 1980, I decided to watch Friday the 13th Part 2, which was originally released in 1981.

I really liked Friday the 13th Part 2 and found it to be a very enjoyable slasher flick. So you would think that this would make me want to go and watch the first film, but no… I had to wait for that movie to be 34 years old (haha!).

So now, watching the second movie after seeing the first film, I can’t help but compare Friday the 13th Part 2 to the original film. The second movie (along with most, if not all, of the sequels) follows the same formula as the first film, therefore some people might say that the second movie is just a rehash of the first film. There are some scenes in the second movie that really similar to some scenes in the first film and those scenes were done better in the first film. Also the first movie had better atmosphere.

This time around I noticed that the kills in Friday the 13th Part 2 felt toned down from the first film. Of course, this is something I would not have noticed when I first watched this movie several years ago, since I had not watched the first film at that time.

It was later confirmed that the kills were indeed toned down because there’s a mention in one of the Friday the 13th Part 2 DVD special features that the MPAA got a lot of flak for allowing all the blood and violence in the R-rated version of first Friday the 13th movie so for the second film the MPAA really put the hammer down and the film makers had to cut out a lot to get an R rating.

With all that said, while the first movie is definitely the better movie of the two, I still think Friday the 13th Part 2 is a good, enjoyable slasher flick. I liked how some of the actors from the first film appeared in the second movie. This film is worth watching if you’re a fan of slasher films, unless you’re someone who doesn’t like it when a sequel doesn’t stray too far from the formula of the original film.

Just like the DVD for the first film, the DVD for the second film has some pretty cool special features. There’s a trailer for the film and Lost Tales From Camp Blood Part II, which continues from where Part I (from the DVD of the first film) left off.

Inside “Crystal Lake Memories” has an interview with a Friday the 13th “historian” and this is pretty interesting. As I mentioned above, it’s here that the guy says the MPAA forced the film makers to cut out a lot of content from the violent kills in Friday the 13th Part 2 to get an R rating.

Friday’s Legacy: Horror Conventions has some footage of a horror convention that had appearances by some of the cast and crew of the Friday the 13th movies. I have not been to very many conventions and I’m never been to a horror convention, but after watching this I really, really want to go one.

And finally there’s Jason Forever, a featurette with footage from a panel at a convention that brought together four of the actors who played Jason Voorhees in the Friday the 13th movies, including the awesome Kane Hodder. This was one of the coolest special features I have ever watched. I am a huge fan of Hodder and, even though I like Freddy Vs. Jason, I thought Hodder definitely should have played Jason that movie.

This entry was posted in DVDs, Friday the 13th, Friday the 13th Movies, Horror Movies, Movies, Slasher Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

