Movies I Watched Recently #5: Tropic Thunder (2008)

Tropic Thunder DVD

Before watching this movie I expected Tropic Thunder to be either a really lame, unfunny movie or an extremely hilarious movie that would give me plenty of good laughs.

In the end, thankfully, this movie did give me some really good laughs.

I knew that Ben Stiller, Robert Downey Jr., and Jack Black starred in Tropic Thunder, but I didn’t know that Ben Stiller also directed the movie. If I had known that I might have been even more hyped to watch this movie.

For me, Tropic Thunder’s best laughs are provided by Stiller himself. And this movie conforms it – I have the same sense of humor that Ben Stiller has. Some the stuff he says and does in this movie had me rolling on the floor laughing (and I mean this literally, since I did actually fall off my couch laughing!). I had not laughed this hard while watching a movie in a long time.

Robert Downey Jr. also provides a couple of really good laughs, especially when he was in a fake trailer scene that has a cameo by another pretty well known actor, who has done more dramatic movies than comedy films. I won’t say who this actor is, because if you haven’t seen this movie and don’t know that this actor appears in this movie, it makes this particular scene way more funnier when you actually watch this movie. I myself had no idea that this actor had a cameo in this movie, so I laughed really hard when I watched this scene.

Ben Stiller and Jack Black have their own fake trailer scenes and those scenes are really funny as well. But one with Robert Downey Jr. is the funniest.

Unfortunately, the one negative thing I have to say about this movie is that I didn’t find it to be consistently funny all the time. Several minutes would go by without me laughing or even having a small chuckle, especially in the second half of the movie.

But that’s okay, because Tropic Thunder was definitely worth watching for me. When the movie was funny, it was really funny. Like I stated above, this film provided some of the best laughs that I had while watching a movie.

I probably will need to find a seat belt for my couch now so I don’t fall off it again (haha!).

This entry was posted in DVDs, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

