Movies I Watched Recently #4: Cloak & Dagger (1984)

Cloak and Dagger The Wizard 2-pack DVD

When I bought the Cloak & Dagger/The Wizard DVD 2-pack (seen in the picture above) several years ago, it was mainly for watching The Wizard. At that time I couldn’t find a copy of The Wizard by itself on DVD, so I decided to get this DVD 2-pack instead.

The Wizard is a movie that I do enjoy watching a lot. I loved it as a kid and I still love it as an adult. Yes, a lot of this movie’s appeal had to due with all the Nintendo stuff in it. And many of you who have been reading my blog know that I’m a huge gamer and I grew up playing NES games.

So despite the fact that for years I have a copy of Cloak & Dagger from this DVD 2-pack, I never watched my DVD copy of the Cloak & Dagger… until now that it is.

Before watching Cloak & Dagger, I read the description for the movie and it sounded like a movie I saw when I was a kid. I went over to a friend’s house and I think we watched this movie (or parts of it).

So I sat down and watched Cloak & Dagger, and sure enough, this was the same movie I had watched at my friend’s house!

I remembered that it was a movie about a boy (Henry Thomas from E.T.) who loved playing pretend “spy games”. I even remembered the old couple. However, I didn’t remember the movie having so much Atari stuff in it!

But like I said above, I grew up playing NES games. I wasn’t aware of the 80s Atari systems and games until much later.

Anyway, in Cloak & Dagger there’s boxes of Atari games and posters of the games on walls. The videogame geek in me was really enjoying this!

I always wondered why they bundled Cloak & Dagger along with The Wizard in this DVD 2-pack, Well, it makes sense now. The Wizard is an advertisement for Nintendo and Cloak & Dagger is an advertisement for Atari! (haha, just kidding)

Anyway, in the movie the boy is friends with a girl from his neighborhood and he sometimes gets her involved in his imaginary spy games. If there’s one thing I could change about the movie, it’s that I would have like to see the girl as his partner/sidekick more throughout the movie. She is kind of like that at the beginning. I thought that would have made it a better movie.

But other than that, overall I found the movie to be entertaining and enjoyable. It’s definitely a classic. I will be watching this movie again throughout the years.

This entry was posted in DVDs, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

