DVD/Blu-Ray Pickups #9: Eight Friday the 13th movies!

You know, it’s funny.

A few weeks I thought to myself that it would be really cool if I could watch some Friday the 13th/Jason movies this October so I could get into the Halloween mood. I have enjoyed watching most of these movies in the past but I have not watched them in a long time.

Lo and behold, last week I was at a Walmart store and I saw these Friday the 13th/Jason movies in these DVD 2-packs. Each of these 2-packs contain, of course, two Friday the 13th/Jason movies. Each 2-pack cost about $5 ($4.96 to be exact), so that’s like $2.50 a movie.

I knew right then and there that I would be getting some Friday the 13th/Jason movies, so I bought 4 of these 2-packs. That’s eight movies total.

Hardcore Friday the 13th fans know that, not including the 2009 reboot movie, there are ten Friday the 13th/Jason movies, plus one crossover movie, 2003’s Freddy Vs. Jason. So if I bought 8 movies there’s two movies I didn’t buy. Which ones didn’t I buy?

Well, I didn’t get the DVD 2-pack with Friday the 13th Part VII: The New Blood and Friday the 13th Part VIII: Jason Takes Manhattan. I don’t remember much about Friday the 13th Part VII, so I don’t remember if I liked or didn’t like the film.

However, I do know that I’m not a huge fan of Jason Takes Manhattan. It’s an okay horror/slasher movie, out of all the Friday the 13th movies, this one is one I was the most hyped for. All the previous movies took place in a camp setting (for the most part), but this would be the first film to take Jason out of that setting and put him in New York. I thought the concept for this movie was a really good idea. It’s a shame that I was disappointed when I finally watched this film. Like I stated above, it’s an okay movie. But I thought the movie would be better…

So which eight Friday the 13th films did I buy? Well, I bought Friday the 13th 1-6 along with Jason Goes To Hell: The Final Friday and Jason X.

Friday the 13th 1-4 on DVD

Friday the 13th 5 and 6, Jason Goes to Hell, Jason X on DVD

Out of all these eight movies, I have watched seven of them before. So there’s one I didn’t watch.

And the one I did not watch is… the first one. The original Friday the 13th from 1980. I mean, I think Friday the 13th Part 2 has some clips from the first movie so since I have watched Part 2, I guess that means I have seen some clips from the first movie. But that’s it.

As for why I haven’t watched the first movie, I don’t… really know. When I watch a film series I haven’t seen before, I usually start with the first movie. Or at least I try to go back to watch the first movie, if I started with one of the sequels. I don’t know what happened here.

Anyway, as you can see in the picture above, this 2-pack version comes with the uncut version of the first movie. Also I believe 2-pack with Jason Goes to Hell: The Final Friday has the unrated version of that movie as well, since there’s a mention of a version that’s not rated on the back cover. But I’m not 100% sure on this.

Speaking of Jason Goes To Hell: The Final Friday, this movie is not only my favorite in the series, it was actually the first Friday the 13th/Jason movie that I watched, in its entirety (I might have watched parts of some the earlier films when they aired on TV). I remember when the movie originally opened in theaters in 1993. I was too young to go see it, but my friend’s older siblings and their friends were excited to go see the movie. I heard them talking about the film a lot. Several years later, when I was old enough, I rented this movie.

Jason X is the first Friday the 13th/Jason movie that I’ve watched in theaters when it opened in 2002 here in the U.S. I thought it was a pretty good film but I didn’t like it too much. The next year I also got to watch Freddy Vs. Jason at the theater and I liked this one a lot. This movie turned out much better than I thought it would be. I have not seen the 2009 Friday the 13th reboot yet, although I do really want to watch it.

So originally, as a lot of you diehard fans know, Paramount made the first eight Friday the 13th movies, and then the rights to the movies switched over to New Line Cinema and they started making these films, starting with 1993’s Jason Goes To Hell: The Final Friday.

Well, out of the eight films made by Paramount, my favorite is Friday the 13th Part II. I also enjoyed watching the third, fourth, fifth, and sixth movies. So I’m glad I have these films on DVD now, and I can’t wait to get to them.

Like I said, I still might go back buy the 2-pack with seventh and eighth Friday the 13th movies. There’s also similar DVD 2-packs containing the A Nightmare on Elm Street series. One of these 2-packs has the Freddy vs. Jason movie. One day I might get these ones as well.

So anyway, sometime in October I might dedicate a week to watch all these Friday the 13th/Jason movies, watching one or two a night. Or I might try to watch them all in one weekend, marathon style. We’ll see what happens…

This entry was posted in DVDs, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

