Movies I Watched Recently #3: Rookie of the Year (1993)

Rookie of the Year DVD

When I was younger I loved watching this movie. In fact, I had this movie on VHS. However, I don’t remember the last time I saw this movie. It must have been sometime in the mid or late 90s.

Therefore, it’s been over ten years since I last watched this movie. I always wondered if I would still enjoy watching this movie now like I did when I was a youngster. So recently I decided to sit down and watch this movie.

Thomas Ian Nicholas stars in Rookie of the Year as Henry Rowengartner, an ordinary kid who, through extraordinary circumstances, gets recruited to pitch for a professional baseball team, the Chicago Cubs. Thomas, a child actor at the time, is probably best known for this film or the American Pie films.

Watching the movie now as an adult, I find that, unfortunately, I don’t like this movie as much as I did when I was a kid and I didn’t laugh as much at the jokes and antics in the movie like I used to. But that’s understandable and I kind of expected this.

However, there is one thing in the movie that I still find to be super hilarious. There’s this running joke where the Chicago Cubs coach calls Henry Rowengartner by a different name every time he sees him (except for one time I believe). I laugh pretty hard every time this happens.

I also get a kick out of seeing Gary Busey play a good guy type character and I have admit I was a bit surprised to see him in this role. As a kid I didn’t really know who he is, but nowadays I remember him most for his villain characters, especially from action movies from the early 90s like Point Break and Under Siege.

Overall, despite saying that I don’t like this movie as much as I use to when I was a kid, I found Rookie of the Year to still be an enjoyable movie to watch. It was a nice trip down memory lane.

This entry was posted in DVDs, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

