Movies I Watched Recently #1: Gremlins (1984)

This will be a new series of blog posts where I will write about movies that I have watched recently. In each blog post I will usually pick only one movie to talk about. First up is the 1984 film Gremlins.

Gremlins Special Edition DVD

Until recently I have never watched Gremlins before. I always wanted to, but I didn’t the chance to watch it until a few days ago.

There are two things I didn’t know about this movie. First I didn’t know that this movie took place during Christmas time. But seeing as it was Chris Columbus that wrote the screenplay, I guess I shouldn’t be too surprised. As many you know, Chris Columbus would go on to direct the first two Home Alone movies (and he also directed the first two Harry Potter films).

Second, while I knew that Phoebe Cates was in this movie, I didn’t know that Judge Reinhold was in this movie as well. Seeing those two on screen together, I can’t help but flashback to their “infamous” scene in Fast Times at Ridgemont High. I wonder if they talked about that scene while filming Gremlins…

Anyway, I found Gremlins to be a highly entertaining movie. Lead actors Zach Galligan and Phoebe Cates are very likable. Considering that this is a movie from 1984, I was also actually quite impressed with the special effects and the creature designs. They held up pretty well.

If you haven’t seen the Gremlins, I definitely recommend checking it out. However, if you are thinking about letting your kids watch this film, then I would recommend watching the movie first before deciding if this film is appropriate for your children.

I’m not sure if this movie was ever marketed or labeled as a “family film.” Even though the film is rated PG, the movie does have some scary scenes that may frighten young children and also the film has more violent content than your average PG movie.

This entry was posted in DVDs, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

