Playing Defiance on PS3, Part One

For the past couple of days, I’ve been playing the digital version of Defiance on my PS3 game console. It’s a sci-fi third person shooter MMO (massively multiplayer online) game with ties to a sci-fi TV series of the same name. I’m about 10 hours into it.

I’ve been wanting to check out Defiance for awhile now and I almost bought the digital version of this game several times when it was on sale on the PSN Store, especially when the game hit $10.

But now that the game is free to download and play, I finally decided to give it a go.

Defiance PS3 game file size

First you download the game from the PSN Store and it’s almost a 5 GB file (4980 MB to be exact, as seen in the picture above). After downloading and installing the game, when you first boot up the game, it will prompt you to download a small update. I apologize, but I don’t remember the file size of this update, but it was pretty small and only took a few minutes to download.

After that the game’s title screen will start up and you will then have to download another couple of updates, and this time the total file size for these updates is really big. As seen in the picture below, the file size is 3428 MB.

Defiance PS3 Patch Data File Size

I knew this update would take awhile to download, so I went out and ran an errand. Okay, so the more accurately thing to say is “I drove my car to do an errand” since I did not do any actual “running” (haha!).

I have heard some people say that they had trouble downloading the updates but I had no trouble at all. Everything downloaded fine.

So I start playing the game, and one of the first things I notice about the game is that the graphics aren’t that good, but since the game is an open world, sandbox type game I didn’t expect the graphics to be very detailed like, say for intance, the graphics of a linear third person action game with a 6-8 hour campaign.

But I can overlook the not so good graphics if I enjoy playing the game, and thankfully I’m having lots of fun playing the game so far.

Like I stated above, Defiance is essentially an open world, sandbox type game. You have mission markers on your map, where you can start missions. The game has main story missions and sidequests.

The game also has some missions from the TV show. Since I have not watched the TV show at all, I’m not sure if these TV show missions are actually story things that happen in the show or if they were just inspired by the events of the TV show.

You can also do some “mini missions” (I’m not sure if the game has an official term for these things). As you move around the world, these little missions will pop up and you can do things like rescue prisoners, eliminate all enemies, or raid a base.

And then there are these Arkfalls, which come in two varieties: Minor and Major. These are huge battles that usually have several players fighting off groups of monsters/enemies. I’ve done one Major Arkfall and two Minor ones.

Yes, as you play through Defiance, you’ll see other real human players around you, so you can join up and play with them or you can play solo if you want, which is what I’ve been doing. I do have a buddy who is interested in playing this game, so maybe I’ll play with him sometime.

As far as bugs and glitches go, unfortunately I did get disconnected from the game’s servers once and was booted back to the title screen. Searching the internet, this seems to be a common problem with the game if you been playing in a long game session. At the time of my disconnect, I had played for almost two hours.

I also ran into a small glitch where the game wouldn’t let me complete a “mini mission“, but this was just a minor annoyance.

Game freezes seem to be something other players have experienced, but thankfully the game has not frozen on me yet. However there was this one time where in a 45 second period I thought that the game would freeze up on me three times but it didn’t.

I’m also not exactly sure how the save system works, but I believe Defiance saves your game on their servers and not locally on your PS3.

The game also doesn’t tell you how to exit back to the title screen. I had to do an internet search to find out. If you’re playing on PS3, you hit the start button and then push L2. You can now push the Square button to “log out,” which brings you back to the title screen.

Anyway, so far I’m really enjoying playing Defiance. Now I have heard some people say that they really liked the game at the beginning and then got bored with it, so we’ll see if that happens to me.

As I play more Defiance, I do plan on writing more blog posts about this game. Stay tuned.

This entry was posted in Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Playing Defiance on PS3, Part One

  1. Jt says:

    I know the post is old but the small update that you werent sure gow big is 25MB just lil more info for the post.

Leave a Reply

