My GBA Games #11: Robotech The Macross Saga

Robotech The Macross Saga GBA

When I bought Robotech: The Macross Saga for my Game Boy Advance, it didn’t really matter to me if this game turned out to be a mediocre game. I am a huge fan of the Robotech animated TV series, especially the Macross Saga part of the series, so I was glad to finally be able to play a Robotech videogame.

Before this game came out, there was an attempt to make a Robotech game for the N64 but that game got canceled. I believe there are two Robotech/Macross games released for the TurboGrafx-16’s CD add-on but I’m not 100% sure if these games were released in the U.S.

Therefore Robotech: The Macross Saga, released in 2002 for the GBA, became my first Robotech videogame. Later on I also picked up Robotech: Battlecry for the PS2.

Robotech: The Macross Saga is a side-scrolling shmup (or shoot ‘em up) where you pilot the Veritech Fighters, which are fighter jets that can transform into robots, just like in the animated TV show. You can transform your Veritech at any time.

In the game, you have five Robotech characters you can choose from. These characters are Rick Hunter, Max Sterling, Ben Dixon, Roy Fokker, and Miriya. Each character has his/her strengths and weaknesses, such as one character being quick but can’t take a lot damage.

When I first started playing Robotech: The Macross Saga, I found the game to be really difficult. I had not played very many shmups so I thought that maybe that was the reason why I was not good at the game.

The first character I chose to play as was Max Sterling, because he is my favorite Robotech character. Unfortunately I didn’t do too well while playing as him.

When I later switched to playing as Ben Dixon, I did better in the game. Ben’s Veritech is slower than the others (it’s not too slow) but he is able to take a more damage before being destroyed. In fact, playing as Ben I was able to finally play through all the levels and beat the game.

After beating the game as Ben, I was able to go back and play the game as Max and beat the game with him. I also beat the game with most (if not all) of other characters.

Therefore if you start out playing this game not as Ben but as one of the other characters and find the game to be too hard, I recommend switching to Ben because that might make the game easier for you.

Overall I found the gameplay to be fun and enjoyable, but I’m not an expert on shmups and, like I stated above, I haven’t played very many of them.

The best thing about this game, other than getting to play as Max Sterling, is that the some of the music from Robotech TV show have been re-created in this game. It felt so awesome blasting away at the bad guys while listening to familiar tunes from the TV series!

I ended up liking Robotech: The Macross Saga a lot, and to this day I still pull out this game and play it from time to time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

