My GBA Games #9: Shining Force Resurrection of the Dark Dragon

Just like I thought Metroid: Zero Mission was a brand new Metroid game, when I bought Shining Force: Resurrection of the Dark Dragon for my Game Boy Advance, I thought it was a new entry in the Shining Force series.

While I never played the original Shining Force, I have very fond memories of playing Shining Force II on my Sega Genesis back in the 90s. Shining Force II isn’t just one of my favorite RPGs of the 16-bit era, it’s one of my favorite games period in that era. I played through and beat Shining Force II multiple times.

I missed out on Shining Force III because I didn’t have a Saturn system back then, but when I heard that there would be a Shining Force game for the GBA, I got pretty excited about it.

When the game was released, Shining Force: Resurrection of the Dark Dragon was extremely hard to find in my area. One day I saw that my local Media Play store had a copy of the game, so I quickly bought it. I’m glad I did, because I never saw another copy of the game in my local stores.

Shining Force GBA

So I played the game and I did beat it. I did enjoy playing the game. Like I mentioned above, I initially thought that this was a new entry in the Shining Force series. It was only many years after I had beaten the game that I learned that Shining Force: Resurrection of the Dark Dragon is a remake of the first Shining Force game on the Genesis.

This is a fun Strategy RPG for the GBA. If you like to play Strategy RPGs on your GBA and you are a fan of the Shining Force series, then I recommend picking this game up.

This entry was posted in Nintendo, Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

