My GBA Games #5: Metroid Zero Mission

Metroid Zero Mission

When I bought Metroid: Zero Mission in the mid 2000s, I didn’t know that it was a remake of the original Metroid game on the NES.

Thinking that it was a new 2D Metroid game, I played Metroid: Zero Mission and I did end up beating it. At that time, it was only the second Metroid game I beat. The other one I beat is Metroid Prime on the Gamecube.

It was only sometime after beating Metroid: Zero Mission that I learned it was a remake.

As for playing Metroid: Zero Mission, I am a huge fan of “Metroidvania” games,  so I had a lot of fun playing this game. The game has an in-game map which was really helpful for me. Because of that, I don’t think I ever consulted a guide online in order to beat this game.

After you beat the game, you unlock the NES version of Metroid. I never played Metroid on the NES, so this was my first time playing it. Unfortunately the NES Metroid lacks an in-game map, so I kind of got lost while playing it (haha!). I do want to beat the NES Metroid one day, and I’ll probably use a guide or map from the internet.

Since I could play Metroid on this GBA cart, when Nintendo released Metroid separately for their Classic NES Series line of GBA games, I passed on getting that.

To this day, Metroid: Zero Mission is the only 2D Metroid game that I’ve beaten. Like I said above, I do want to beat the NES Metroid one of these days. On my Wii system I also have Super Metroid as a Virtual Console title, and I plan on playing through and beating this game as well.

If you like playing “Metroidvania” games, but haven’t played Metroid: Zero Mission, I definitely recommend checking this game out.

This entry was posted in Nintendo, Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

