My GBA Games #4: Breath of Fire II

Unlike the first Breath of Fire game, which I talked about in my last blog post, I did not play Breath of Fire II on the Super Nintendo. Back then I remember wanting to get it for my SNES, and I had several opportunities to get it, but I always passed on it.

I remember my last opportunity to buy Breath of Fire II for the SNES. It was November of 1998. I was standing in a KB Toys store and I saw a copy of the game for about $60. I had enough money to buy the game but there was other stuff that I also wanted buy (in other stores). I remember walking around that KB Toys store for 10-15 minutes, trying to decide whether I would buy it or not.

Ultimately I decided to pass on it, at least for the time being. My intention was to come back a few weeks later and buy it then. At that time I was in the middle of playing Xenogears for the Playstation, so if I bought Breath of Fire II, I knew wouldn’t play it until I beat Xenogears (which would take me several more days). That was one of the reasons I decided to pass on Breath of Fire II.

Anyway, I did go back to that KB Toys store a few weeks later, but unfortunately the game was gone. And I never saw a brand new copy of Breath of Fire II for the SNES in stores again. I had completely missed out on getting it (unless I wanted to acquire it secondhand).

As I mentioned in my last blog post, I have a copy of the original Breath of Fire game for the Super Nintendo that I could not play, due to the fact that the save battery died. And now I had missed out on getting Breath of Fire II for the SNES. This was such a weird and unique situation.

So it was a good thing that the Game Boy Advance came around. Not only would Capcom be doing a port of the original Breath of Fire game for the GBA, but they would also be doing a GBA port of the sequel as well.

This was my chance to finally play Breath of Fire II!

When the game was released, I went to my local Circuit City store, the same store where I bought my copy of the GBA version of Breath of Fire from, and picked up a copy of GBA version of Breath of Fire II.

Breath of Fire II GBA Capcom

After playing and beating it, I found Breath of Fire II to be a very enjoyable RPG. I later played through this GBA version and beat it again.

A few months ago, I was talking to some of my friends and we were talking about the first two Breath of Fire games. Most of them liked the second game more than the first but if I had to choose which one of the two games I like more, I think I would lean towards the first game. Still, Breath of Fire II is a good RPG, and it’s definitely worth playing if you’re into old school, turn-based JRPGs.

Several years later, when the SNES version of Breath of Fire II was released on the Wii Virtual Console, I couldn’t resist. I bought this version as well. I played a little bit of this Wii Virtual Console version but didn’t beat it. One day I do want to go back and play through this version and beat it, at least once.

However, I love playing Breath of Fire II on a handheld system and I’m glad I have the GBA version.

This entry was posted in Nintendo, Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

