DVD/Blu-Ray Pickups #8: Boardwalk Empire and a few $10 TV Shows on DVD (Heroes, Alcatraz, Rectify, and Alphas)

A few days ago I picked a few TV Shows on DVD from Walmart. I bought Heroes: Season 2,  Alcatraz: The Complete Series, Rectify (Season 1), and Alphas: Season 1. Each of these TV Show DVD sets were about $9.99 each.

Heroes Season 2 Alcatraz

Rectify Alphas Season One

I bought Heroes: Season 1 on DVD a few years ago and absolutely loved watching it. The show was a lot better than I expected it to be. But then I’ve always been a fan of super heroes and comic books, which are some of the things that inspired the show. However, I hesitated in buying the next couple of seasons of Heroes on DVD because I have heard a lot of people say that the last couple of seasons of Heroes aren’t as good as the first season. I don’t know if the “decline” started in Season 2. But for $10, I figured I’d buy Season 2, watch it, and then make up my own mind about the show.

I remember watching the commercials for Alcatraz on TV and thinking that this looks like a cool show. Jorge Garcia is on this show and I liked his work on Lost. However, Alcatraz only has 13 episodes before being cancelled, so I wonder if the show had enough time to wrap up any loose ends by the thirteenth episode…

I have never heard of Rectify before but sometimes I like to take a chance on stuff I never heard of. It’s a show that originally aired on Sundance Channel, but the show looks like it’s critically acclaimed.

I’ve actually watched the first episode of Alphas, and I thought it was pretty good. I don’t think this show will end up being my favorite TV show of all time or anything like that, but I think I will end up liking the show.

I also bought Boardwalk Empire: The Complete First Season on DVD for about $30.

Boardwalk Empire Season 1

Originally airing on HBO, Boardwalk Empire is a show that a lot of people have recommended to me, so I finally decided to give it a shot. Steve Buscemi stars in this show and I’ve always been a fan of his work. He tends to play some strange, odd characters but I don’t know if he plays a strange character here. Still, I can’t wait to check this show out.

This entry was posted in DVDs, TV Shows and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

