Gamer Update #12: Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition for PS3

There was a time where I was big into fighting games. When I got Street Fighter II Turbo for my Super Nintendo in the early 90s, I played that game non-stop for a year and a half. I also loved playing Samurai Shodown on my Genesis. When I got my Playstation I had a blast playing Tekken 2 and 3 (but somehow I missed out on playing the first Tekken on the Playstation). Tekken 3 was so much fun.

But sadly Tekken 3 would be the last fighting game that I was really big into. Sure, I still play a fighting game here and there, but for some reason I can’t get into them like I used to anymore.

So Black Friday of 2013 rolls around, and those of you who read my “Videogame Shopping Report #17” blog post know that I bought Mortal Kombat: Komplete Edition for $11.99 at Best Buy during Black Friday. I figured that for 12 bucks I’d give the game a shot.

Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition PS3

I started playing this game a little over a month ago, and ended up putting a lot of hours into the game. There’s a lot of content here. The game has a few different single player and multiplayer modes. Single player modes in Mortal Kombat include a Story Mode, Arcade Ladder, and Challenge Tower.

The story in Story Mode is definitely good. Sure, it’s not going to win an Academy Award or anything like that, and it can get kind of predictable and cliché. But it is very well done. Picture a good Mortal Kombat movie with CGI graphics except when it comes the most of the fight scenes, you’ll have control of the characters in one on one combat (sometimes it‘s one on two combat).

Arcade Ladder involves you choosing a character and fighting ten fights with the last fight against the final boss. Arcade ladder can played single character vs. single character, or two characters vs. two characters tag team style (in this case you’ll be choosing two characters).

The game does have finishing moves including Fatalities and Babalities. I’m sure this won’t be a surprise to fans of the Mortal Kombat series, but the Fatalities in this game can get very graphic. I myself love the blood, gore, and extreme violence, but if I had some young kids, they are going nowhere near this game!

Playing the game is fun in itself, but playing and advancing in Story Mode and Arcade Ladder will net you some coins which you can spend to unlock stuff, so there’s even more motivation to play those modes.

Coins can also be earned in Challenge Tower, where you can complete certain challenges, like defeating your opponent using only Special Moves. Challenges get harder as you go along, and I’ve only completed the first couple of challenges.

There’s also some multiplayer modes including local multiplayer versus another individual via a second controller. The game has online multiplayer but I have not had the chance to try it out, so I can’t say anything about it.

This Mortal Kombat: Komplete Edition comes with 4 additional playable DLC characters: Skarlet, Rain, Kenshi, and Freddy Krueger from A Nightmare on Elm Street movie series.

The PS3 version also comes with Kratos from the God of War series as a playable character, so if you own both an Xbox 360 and a PS3, you might want to pick up the PS3 version of Mortal Kombat if you like the God of War series.

Utimately Mortal Kombat ends up being the first fighting game that I have gotten into in a long while. The graphics look good and the fighting (at least in the offline modes) is really smooth.

Still, while I like a lot of things about the game, unfortunately I do have to point out one thing that I really don’t like – when you’re playing against the computer, sometimes the computer controlled characters beat you in unfair and cheap ways. There will be times when I will be doing really well in a fight and I’m winning. Then, all of a sudden, my computer opponent launches a couple of really quick attacks and before I know it I’m defeated.

Now this is nothing new for veterans of fighting games since they expect some computer-controlled characters to be cheap in their some of their fighting games, but casual fans of fighting games might get highly frustrated at some of their cheap defeats. I know there were several times I would lose to the computer in a really cheap manner, and this got me so frustrated that I almost starting throwing things across the room! (haha!)

Therefore, this makes this game kind of tricky for me to recommend. If you like fighting games and/or you are a fan of previous Mortal Kombat games, you’ll probably enjoy this game a lot. However, the high frustration that you can get from being defeated in a cheap manner may also cause you to have some broken furniture in your house (haha!).

This entry was posted in Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gamer Update #12: Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition for PS3

  1. jdh5153 says:

    I suck horribly at fighting games but I enjoyed Mortal Kombat for a bit. I didn’t get too far into it before I ended up trading it in, but it was more enjoyable than most other fighting games I’ve played. I’d get utterly devastated online though.

    -avideogamelife.com

Leave a Reply

