My Favorite Christmas Movies #2: A Christmas Story (1983)

Ah yes, you can’t talk about Christmas movies without mentioning A Christmas Story.

Released in theaters in 1983, I believe the movie is set in the 1940s. This movie does make me nostalgic for the time period that it takes place in, even though that time period was WAY before I was born.

These days we get a lot of our entertainment, whether it be movies, tv shows, or videogames, through using electronic devices and machines. And these devices and machines can be very awesome. Videogames are a lot of fun to play. Also you wouldn’t be reading this blog if you didn’t have some sort of electronic device or machine.

Yet one of the most charming things about A Christmas Story is that it is set in a time period where modern day entertainment doesn’t exist. The only thing they had was radio. There’s no HDTVs, videogames, computers, iPhones, tablets, etc…

In that time period, kids had to find other forms of entertainment. Ralph, the older kid in the movie, goes to Santa Claus and asks him for BB gun for Christmas. If this movie was made today, I can’t help thinking that he would be asking for an iPad, Xbox, or Playstation (haha!).

One of my favorite scenes in the movie is when Ralph, after he is teased by the school bully, starts beating up on the bully. Of course, I don’t condone violence in real life and I hope that kids don’t watch this movie and copy the violence. But I still love this scene!

I don’t remember when I first watched this movie. It must have been sometime in the late 80s or early 90s. I remember watching parts of the movie every now and then when it aired on TV, but it’s quite possible that I never watched the entire movie until I bought it on VHS.

Yes, I still have my VHS copy of this movie, even though my VCR no longer works (haha!).

A Christmas Story VHS 1

A Christmas Story VHS 2

I don’t remember what year I bought this video, but it must have been in the late 90s or early 2000s. A few years later, I remember walking into a store and seeing the DVD version of this movie on the shelf. I remember thinking that I wanted to get the DVD. And I’ve been saying that every year since then, as I still have not bought the movie on DVD yet (haha!). Maybe this year…

This movie is the most requested movie that my family members and relatives ask to watch during Christmas. Yet I don’t think any of them have a copy of it. So this Christmas, when I go see them, I’ll be sure to bring my VHS copy of the movie with me. Hopefully one of them will still have a functioning VCR (haha!).

This entry was posted in Christmas, Movies, VHS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

