My Favorite Christmas Movies #1: Home Alone (1990)

It’s December and it’s getting closer and closer to Christmas. So I thought I would start a new series of blog posts talking about my favorite Christmas movies. In each post I’ll pick one movie and talk about it.

First up is the original Home Alone. The film was originally released in theaters during the holiday season in 1990 and I believe it was released on VHS the next year. I never saw it in the theater so the first time I watched it was on video.

I remember wanting to get my parents to buy me Home Alone on video for Christmas the first year it was available on VHS. However, my parents had already spent their money buying other Christmas presents for me, so they didn’t want to buy me this.

So, for that Christmas I had to settle for the next best thing – we went to our local video rental store and rented Home Alone. And I had an absolute blast watching this movie! I don’t remember how long we rented it for, but I watched it multiple times (at least three times) before we returned it (yes, we rewinded the video tape – we always remember to do that, haha!). Man, back then I really wished I could have gotten my parents to buy me the movie.

In the movie Macaulay Culkin plays the main kid/character Kevin McCallister and Kevin’s favorite type of pizza is a cheese pizza with no toppings. Now I’ve never ordered a cheese pizza for myself before. I’ve always ordered a pizza with at least one topping. However, in the past my family members have ordered a cheese pizza for themselves, so I have had a slice of cheese pizza. But if I watch Home Alone this year (and I think I will), I just might order a cheese pizza for myself in tribute to Kevin McCallister.

One thing about Home Alone that never gets old is how Kevin uses that black and white movie to interact with a couple of characters. I always laugh during those parts. “Keep the change you filthy animal!” (haha!) That never gets old.

The sequel Home Alone 2: Lost in New York was released in theaters two years after the first film, and I loved that movie as well. Right now, if you asked me which movie I like better, Home Alone or Home Alone 2: Lost in New York, it would be really hard to pick. But as a kid I think I liked the second movie a little bit more than the first one, since I liked the New York setting more. But both are great films.

I watched Home Alone 3 when it aired on TV a few years ago and it was a decent movie. But to be honest, I wasn’t too interested in watching any of the Home Alone films that came out after the second movie since Macaulay Culkin isn’t in any of them. I have not seen Home Alone 4 and 5.

In fact, I would have loved to see Macaulay Culkin in a third Home Alone film. Home Alone 3 came out in 1997, and I would have loved to see Culkin play a teenaged Kevin McKallister in that film. His character wouldn’t even have to be “main character,” he could just be a support character if they wanted a kid to be the main character. But instead Home Alone 3 features a different set of actors and characters.

Anyway, despite wanting my parents buy me the Home Alone on video in the early 1990s, I never actually owned a copy of Home Alone until the movie was released in the Family Fun Edition DVD, which you see in the picture below. I believe this DVD came out in 2006.

Home Alone Family Fun Edition DVD

This DVD has the anamorphic widescreen version of the movie (I believe the earlier Home Alone DVDs only had the fullscreen version of the movie). It’s also got quite a bit of special features, including some deleted scenes, trailers, and behind-the-scenes footage. But perhaps the most interesting special feature is the movie commentary by Macaulay Culkin and director Chris Columbus. I’ve listened to some of the commentary but not the whole thing, so one day I’ll do that.

The original Home Alone movie is an absolute classic in my book. Everyone has their own list of favorite Christmas movies. This movie may not be on your list, but it’s definitely on mine. I still love watching this movie, and I don’t think I will ever be “too old” to watch this movie.

This entry was posted in DVDs, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

