Videogame Shopping Trip Report #16: Pickups from Walmart and Meijer (Ni No Kuni, Dishonored, Dark Souls, Sleeping Dogs, Sly Cooper Thieves in Time, etc…)

Happy Thanksgiving!

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving here in the U.S., and every year when I get together with my family and friends, they always ask me one thing – Are you going shopping on Black Friday?

And I always tell them the same thing – I don’t really have any plans to go buy anything on that day.

But once Black Friday rolls around, I almost always end up going shopping with one of my friends or family members. And this year I expect the same thing to happen.

Anyway, last week I was at a Walmart and a Meijer and I couldn’t resist buying some games. I bought seven PS3 games.

The games I bought are Dark Souls, Sleeping Dogs, Spec Ops: The Line, Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time, Dishonored, Bodycount, and Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch. Each game was $19.99

The first four games you see below were bought from Walmart, while the last three games were from Meijer.

Dark Souls Sleeping Dogs

Spec Ops The Line Sly Cooper Thieves in Time

Dishonored Bodycount

Ni No Kuni

Dark Souls (along with 2008’s Demon’s Souls) is a game known for it’s extreme difficulty and high learning curve. It’s a game people either love or hate. For the people that do love this game, I think one of the reasons for that is that it’s very rewarding when you are able to defeat the tough enemies in the game. This will be a challenging game for me, but hopefully I’ll be up to the challenge.

Sleeping Dogs is a game that I was looking forward to way back when it was known as True Crime: Hong Kong at Activision. I was sad to see that game get cancelled by Activision but I got super excited when Square Enix picked this game up and decided to release it. I’m really looking forward to playing this game.

Spec Ops: The Line is a third person shooter with a single player campaign that has a critically acclaimed story. However, I believe most reviewers didn’t like the online multiplayer very much. Perhaps one of the reasons for this is that the campaign and multiplayer were developed by two different developers. I bought this game mostly for the single player campaign though, so I should be good.

Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is part of Playstation’s “Cross Buy” promotion, so this game not only has the PS3 version of the game on a blu-ray disc, but it also comes with the PS Vita version as well (I believe there’s a downloadable code for a digital copy of the PS Vita version). So that means Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is also the first ever PS Vita game that I own. It’s so cool that Sony did this.

I remember seeing the trailers for Dishonored and thought that it looked like a really cool game. I know there’s a Game of the Year version of this game with all the DLC, but I figure I’d get this “standard edition” first and if I really liked the game, I might buy some DLC later.

I knew nothing about Bodycount when it was first released, but later I learned Bodycount is considered the spiritual successor to Black, which was one of my favorite FPS on the PS2. I always wanted a sequel to Black, so I’m real excited for Bodycount.

The final game I picked up is Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch. I’ve heard some people say that this game (along with Tales of Vesperia and Xenoblade Chronicles) is the best JRPG of the Xbox 360/PS3/wii generation. When this game was first released, I thought that it would be unlikely that I would find it for $20, but apparently this game has sold enough copies to reach Greatest Hits status, as I have seen this game in a red Greatest Hits case.

Alright, hope everyone has a great Thanksgiving! And have a great time shopping on Black Friday (if you are going out shopping on that day)!

This entry was posted in Videogames, Walmart and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

