Halloween Gaming #2: The Walking Dead (Telltale Videogame and TV Series)

There’s only a couple days left until Halloween!

As I mentioned in my previous blog post, I have been playing some horror videogames lately, and the next game I’m going to talk about is The Walking Dead from Telltale for the Xbox 360. The game consists of 5 Episodes and an additional Episode called “400 days”.

The Walking Dead Episode 1-5 Xbox 360

I downloaded the first episode when it was offered for free. I later bought Episodes 2-5 when they were on sale. I don’t have “400 Days” Episode though. Last night I finished Episode 5, so now I have completed all 5 Episodes.

The story and characters are amazing. While I thought Episode 5 ended in a somewhat predictable manner, it was still very well done. The voice acting is great, especially for the main characters Clementine and Lee. Before playing the game, I wasn’t sure how I would like the graphical style of this game but it fits really well.

I loved how your choices carry over throughout the episodes. Yes, if you really pay attention, you’ll find a few “continuity errors”, but they didn’t bother me.

However, what did bother me were the frustrating technical issues.

I first encountered trouble during Episode 2. One night I turned on my Xbox 360, started the game up, and tried to load my save, which was in the middle of Episode 2. However my save would not load up, and a message popped on my screen, saying “Storage Device Lost”.

Storage Device Lost The Walking Dead Telltale Xbox 360

In case anyone is wondering, I have a 250 GB Xbox 360 S that I bought in the Fall of 2011. I have never used an external storage device with my Xbox 360 and I have never removed the 250 GB hard drive.

Xbox360

Anyway, I exited back to the dashboard, started up the game again, and tried loading save again. This time my save loaded up with no problems and I was able to continue playing the game.

After beating Episode 2, I tried playing Episode 3. The game would not load up and I got the same message saying “Storage Device Lost”.

So I exited the dashboard, booted up the game, and tried starting Episode 3 again. And yet again, I got the same message.

I tried starting Episode 3 a third time and this time the game started me back at Episode 1. I quickly exited the game and said to myself, “Are you freaking kidding me?”

On the fourth try I was able to successfully start Episode 3 and luckily, as far as I could tell, all my choices remained intact. I was able to play through and complete Episode 3 without further problems.

Then I started up Episode 4 and played it without any problems… until I reached the point where I had to open the shed door. Once I opened it, the game… um, stopped and I got the dreaded “Storage Device Lost” message. I couldn’t play play any further and had to go to the main menu. At this point I was so frustrated that I almost threw my Xbox 360 controller. (haha!)

So I exited the game, restarted the game, and loaded up my save file. When I got to the part where I had to open the shed door, I was crossing my fingers, hopping that the game wouldn’t mess up/glitch up again. Thankfully, it didn’t.

I went on to play through and complete Episode 4 without anymore problems, but this really sucked, because Episode 4 turned out to be my favorite episode of the game. If I only I could play without these technical issues.

Episode 5 was the worst, in terms of technical issues. When I tried starting up this Episode, I got the “Storage Device Lost” message yet again. So I tried starting up this Episode four more times and got this same message four more times! I was beyond frustrated – I almost gave up on playing this Episode.

Luckily, when I gave it one final go, I was able to successfully start Episode 5 and all my choices were intact. I was able to play to the end without problems.

Folks, these technical issues aren’t just happening to me. If you do a google search, you’ll come across people that have encountered similar situations with this game.

Thus far I’ve only used one save slot. I’ve heard some people say using save slot #3 might be what causes these glitches and problems but these issues seem to happen no matter what save slot you’re using.

As I mentioned above,  the story and characters are top notch. Playing through the game was an amazing emotional journey that I will never forget.

Unfortunately I will also never forget the technical issues I encountered.

This is a real shame, because I really wanted to replay these Walking Dead episodes again one day, perhaps around Halloween of next year. However, because of these technical issues, I will probably never touch this game again. Buying “400 Days” is completely out of the question.

Anyway, to be end this blog post on a happier (and lighter) note, I wanted to mention that I did buy The Walking Dead Season 1 (AMC TV Series) on DVD a while back and I’ll be watching this in the next couple nights. I really hope this will be enjoyable experience without any technical issues. Because the last thing I want to happen is that while I’m watching these DVDs, a message appears on my TV screen, saying “Storage Device Lost”. (haha!)

The Walking Dead Season 1 DVD

Hope everyone has a great Halloween!

This entry was posted in DVDs, Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Halloween Gaming #2: The Walking Dead (Telltale Videogame and TV Series)

  1. tyler g says:

    the same thing happened to me on episode 5 telltale needs to fix this

Leave a Reply

