Halloween Gaming #1: Castlevania Circle of the Moon GBA

To gear up for Halloween I’ve been playing a few horror themed videogames. The first one I’ll talk about today is Castlevania: Circle of the Moon for the Game Boy Advance.

Castlevania Circle of the Moon

This will be my third time playing through the game and it will be the first time I play it on my DS Lite system (using the GBA slot). The other two times I played it on my regular Game Boy Advance system

The first time I played Castlevania: Circle of the Moon was in the Fall of 2001. That Fall was when I bought my Game Boy Advance system. I went to a Best Buy and bought the GBA system and I also bought three games for it. One of the games, of course, is Castlevania: Circle of the Moon. The other two games are Super Mario Advance (Super Mario 2) and Advance Wars.

I remember standing in that Best Buy store thinking to myself about whether or not I should buy Super Mario Advance, since I already owned Super Mario Bros. 2 on the NES. In the end, I decided to get Super Mario Advance because I thought to myself, “How could I get a Nintendo system without getting a Mario game?” (haha)

While I still have Castlevania: Circle of the Moon and Super Mario Advance, I actually got rid of my unopened copy of Advance Wars shortly thereafter. A friend’s birthday was coming up and he really wanted that game. So I gave it to him as a birthday gift – I did this with the intention that I would buy another copy of Advance Wars for myself later on. Sadly, I didn’t end up buying it. But I did manage to play another friend’s copy for a few hours.

Anyway, shortly after buying my GBA, I remember talking to my brother about playing my GBA and a few days later he actually went out and bought a GBA system for himself, which kind of surprised me, since he wasn’t too big into videogames at that time.

Out of the three games I got, the first GBA game I played was Super Mario Advance. I beat it in two days (although I could have beat it in one day if I wanted to). The next GBA game I played was Castlevania: Circle of the Moon.

And man, I was extremely hooked on the game!

Castlevania: Symphony of the Night on the Playstation is one of my favorite games of all time and I had always wanted to play a sequel to that game. So while Castlevania: Circle of the Moon is not a sequel to Castlevania: Symphony of the Night, in my mind, it was the closest thing to being a sequel, with the “Metroidvania” gameplay style.

Like I said, I was hooked on the Castlevania; Circle of the Moon. I loved every minute playing it. I remember going home from school and, unless I had chores or homework to do, the first thing I did was play Castlevania: Circle of the Moon. I would play it for a few hours just about everyday until I beat it.

The second time I played through the game was a few years later.

As for the other two Castlevania GBA games, I’ve only played through Castlevania: Harmony of Dissonance once and I haven’t played very much of Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow. Maybe in the future, when I get to play those two games more, I’ll have more fondness towards these games.

But right now, Castevania: Circle of the Moon is my favorite GBA Castlevania game. And playing through it a third time, the game is just as fun and addicting to play as it was back in 2001.

This entry was posted in Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

