Videogame Shopping Trip Report #14: Helping Someone find a Videogame (and I picked up Resident Evil 6, Metal Gear Solid, Ratchet & Clank, Splinter Cell, Assassin’s Creed, etc…)

The other day I bought some games at a Walmart, but the most interesting thing that happened there is that I was able to help a fellow gamer find a game he was looking for.

I was in the videogame section looking for some games when two young guys who looked like they were in their early 20s arrived. One of them said he wanted to get a game called Fight Night Champion and started looking for it. His friend went to the opposite side and I think he was half looking for that game and half looking for some games for himself.

After searching for awhile, the guy was unsuccessful, and I kind of felt bad for him, so I decided that I would help him look for the game. I asked him if he was looking for the PS3 version of Fight Night Champion and he said that PS3 version was indeed the version he was looking for.

Fight Night Champion

As you can see from the picture above, I do own a copy of Fight Night Champion for PS3, so I knew exactly what to look for. I looked through the videogame section, and luckily I was able to spot a copy of the game. It was kind of hidden in the glass case containing the PS3 games. I told him I found the game.

He ended up thanking me like five times and his friend thanked me three times.

When I mentioned that I owned the game, he asked if it was the latest Fight Night game and also asked me if I liked it. I said that Fight Night Champion was indeed the latest Fight Night game but it was a pretty old game, since it came out two years ago (in 2011).

To answer his second question, I said that I liked the game a lot. I really liked the cinematic presentation of the story campaign, but I mentioned that one of the criticisms of the game is that the story campaign is short and a bit on the easy side (you can beat it in about 3-5 hours, maybe less time if you’re good at the game). However, there are other modes in the game to keep you playing, including what appears to be some robust online modes (I never tried the online modes though).

He decided to buy the game (it was $20) and he looked real excited to play it. So while I didn’t do anything too special that day, it felt nice to help a fellow gamer out and find the game he was looking for.

Anyway, from that Walmart store I ended up buying six games for myself: Ratchet & Clank Collection (PS3), Resident Evil 6 (PS3), Splinter Cell Trilogy (PS3), Assassin’s Creed: Revelations (PS3), Untold Legends: Brotherhood of the Blade (PSP), and Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker (PSP).

Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker was $10, Untold Legends: Brotherhood of the Blade was $15, while the four PS3 games were $19.99 each.

Ratchet Collection Resident Evil 6

Splinter Cell Collection AC Revelations

Untold Legends Metal Gear Solid

When The Sly Collection came out in 2010, I was really hoping that they would put out a Ratchet & Clank collection, since I enjoyed the R&C games on the PS2 more than the Sly and the Jak games. So picking up this Ratchet & Clank Collection for the PS3 was a no-brainer. This collection contains Ratchet & Clank, Ratchet & Clank: Going Commando Ratchet & Clank: Up Your Arsenal.

As for Resident Evil 6, man, when the game first came out last year the game got some terrible reviews. I have seen gameplay footage, and the camera looks like it might give me a headache at times. However, the story and cutscenes look like something I can get into, so for $20 I’ll give this game a shot.

To be honest, I didn’t expect Ubisoft to come out with a Splinter Cell collection (but then again, I didn’t expect the Prince of Persia collection either). Anyway, this Splinter Cell Trilogy collection contains the original Splinter Cell, Splinter Cell: Pandora Tomorrow, and Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory. I love the original Splinter Cell (I played it on the PS2), but I couldn’t get into Pandora Tomorrow. So I’ll give it a second shot with this HD version. I have not played Chaos Theory.

My friends have mixed things to say about the Assassin’s Creed series. Some of them think the games are boring while some of them consider the AC series to be their favorite videogame series of the current generation. I do find the AC games to be enjoyable. Anyway, this copy of Assassin’s Creed: Revelations also comes with the original Assassin’s Creed, which is pretty sweet. I already have the original Assassin’s Creed for the Xbox 360, but getting to play it on the PS3 is pretty awesome.

Untold Legends: Brotherhood of the Blade is a hack n’ slash dungeon crawler and I’ve started to get into these types of games lately. Even though I read that this game lacks some features of the popular games in this genre, I think this is a game that I will be addicted to.

Finally, I believe Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker is the only Metal Gear game on a portable system that was directed by series creator Hideo Kojima. This game got great reviews across the board.

This entry was posted in Videogames, Walmart and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

