Gamer Update #10: Bionic Commando (PS3)

Bionic Commando PS3

The 2009 Bionic Commando game for PS3 and Xbox 360 is the ultimate “try it before you buy it” game. I’ve also heard people describe this game as a “love it or hate it” game.

For the longest time you could buy this game – even a brand new copy – for real cheap. So there’s a good chance one of your friends has this game. If so, for any of you out there who hasn’t played this game, I highly recommend going over to your friend’s house and trying this game out for yourself. You’ll know pretty quickly if you like this game or not.

Anyway, I bought this game brand new at a Toys R’ Us a few years ago for about $10 (it might have been $8 or $9). But even at that price, the game wasn’t worth it to me.

Bionic Commando is a 3D third person shooter with some platforming, usually involving swinging. It took me awhile to get used to the swinging mechanic, but even then I never got really good at the swinging. It’s very easy to make a mistake while swinging, and while the game is at times forgiving if you miss a swing, often times I find myself either not gathering enough momentum to swing across a large distance or I would swing to an area where I couldn’t latch onto something. Both situations resulted in me falling to my death.

Despite playing on the lowest difficulty setting, I also died a lot during combat, especially if I’m surrounded by a group of enemies. You recover your health over time (kind of like the Call of Duty games), but you don’t take very much damage before you die. So I did try picking off the enemies one by one but sometimes I couldn’t avoid being surrounded.

While the games does have mid-level checkpoints, too often I found myself constantly repeating things over and over again due to my constant dying.

In the end, the frustration outweighed the fun, and that is why I did not enjoy playing this game very much. I didn’t end up beating the game. I was near the end – I maybe had three or four more levels to go. I always try to beat the games I play, so it takes a lot for me to quit playing a game. Ultimately, the game was just too frustrating.

Maybe you’ll do better at this game than I did. Maybe not. That’s why I recommend trying this game before buying.

This entry was posted in Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

