Nintendo Gaming #3: My Thoughts on the Wii U system

In the past, I have written and posted pics on this blog about games for the Wii and the DS. In fact, you can see pics of the boxes for those two systems that I own below.

Nintendo Wii System

Nintendo DS Lite System

Now some of you out there may be wondering… some of you may be asking if I have Nintendo’s two latest systems, the Wii U and 3DS.

The simple answer to that question is – No, I don’t have those two systems.

But am I getting them? Well, the 3DS is a system I’m definitely going to buy.

As for the Wii U, right now I’m taking a “wait and see” approach.

When the Wii U launched in North America and up until a few weeks ago, I had absolutely no interest in buying a Wii U system at all. There were a couple of reasons for this, but the main reason is that the Wii U has practically no games that I want to get.

Sure, the system launched with some pretty cool third party games. I would have been interested in buying some of them – if I didn’t have most of them already for my PS3 or my Xbox 360.

As for Wii U exclusive titles, out of all the games that have been released thus far, I’m only interested in getting three games: Lego City Undercover, ZombiU, and New Super Mario Bros. U. And I only just recently became interested in New Super Mario Bros. U. I’ll say more about that later on.

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate looks really sweet. I would be interested in getting it for the Wii U… if there wasn’t a 3DS version.

And I’m sure Pikmin 3 is going to be a great game but I’m not really interested in playing it. I have the first Pikmin game for the Gamecube and I did enjoy playing it, but after beating it, I felt that I only needed to play only one of these type of games. When Pikmin 2 came out, I didn’t buy it.

As for upcoming exclusive games, I am interested in Bayonetta II, Mario Kart 8, and the Zelda Wind Waker HD game. However, while Donkey Kong Tropical Freeze, Super Mario 3D World, and Sonic Lost World will probably be good games, I’m not too interested in them.

As for the system itself, there are some things I do like about the Wii U. I like how there seems to be less emphasis on motion controls – the Wii U Pro Controller looks like a really sweet controller. I also like that the Wii U can play all my Wii disc games and that I could transfer my Wii digital games (virtual console and WiiWare games) to the Wii U if I want to. Yay, I can finally play my Wii games on an HD TV (haha)!

Anyway, a few weeks ago, I was at Walmart. I saw that they had a Wii U system that you could play with, so I decided to try it out. This was the first time I would be playing the Wii U. And I gotta say… I came away with a very positive experience.

I played a little bit of New Super Mario Bros. U. People may criticized and say that this game feels way too similar to previous New Super Mario Bros. games and that’s fine. However, I have never played any of the previous New Super Mario Bros. games, so New Super Mario Bros. U felt fresh to me. And I had a lot of fun playing it, and that’s the important thing. Playing the game, I actually felt like a little kid again – that kid who loved playing Super Mario Bros. 3 and Super Mario World. So if I ever bought a Wii U system, I would definitely be interested in buying New Super Mario Bros. U.

I played using the Wii U Gamepad, and I must say… the Gamepad is freaking sweet! Yeah, the Wii U was hooked up to a TV screen, but I looked at the screen on the Gamepad most of the time. I can see myself really getting into the “Off TV Play” feature, although from what I have heard, this feature has some limitations that I haven’t foreseen.

Now I didn’t get a chance to try out the Wii U Pro Controller but I don’t see myself having a problem with using this controller.

So anyway, even though I had a great experience playing the Wii U, right now I’m still not buying the system. It all comes back to the fact that right now the Wii U has very little games that I want to get. But, in the future, if the Wii U ever has 10-15 exclusive games that I want to get, then I will seriously think about getting one.

Although the release of Earthbound on the Wii U virtual console does make it very tempting…

This entry was posted in Nintendo, Videogames, Walmart and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

