Videogame Shopping Trip Report #13: Mega Kmart Pickups! (Mass Effect 3, Sonic Generations, Valkyria Chronicles II, Ghost Recon Future Soldier, etc…)

A few days ago I was at a Super Kmart store and I was wondering if they maybe had one or two games that I would be interested in buying. Well, they actually more than one or two games (haha!)

This particular Kmart had a whole boatload of games getting price drops (or going on clearance). I ended up buying 8 games. And there were probably 12-15 more games I would have gotten, if I didn’t have them already (haha!).

So let’s run down the games I bought.

Ghost Recon Future Soldier

For $19.99 I bought Ghost Recon: Future Soldier for the PS3. I remember seeing the trailers for this game when it was first released last year, and the game looked really sweet. I have played Ghost Recon: Advanced Warfighter on my Xbox 360, and that was an enjoyable game. I’m not sure how similar Future Soldier is to Advanced Warfighter though.

Mass Effect 3 PS3

Also for $19.99, I bought Mass Effect 3 for the PS3. I’ve seen this game for $19.99 at other shops before, but this time I decided to pick it up. If I thought that this game would get a “Game of the Year” Edition or “Ultimate” Edition with the DLC later on, then I would wait for that version. However Mass Effect 2 didn’t get a GOTY edition, so I don’t think Mass Effect 3 will get one either.

Sonic Generations PS3

This game’s regular price is $19.99 but it was on sale for $14,99, so for that price I picked up Sonic Generations for the PS3. I think this game dropped to $19.99 a few months ago, but I never saw any PS3 versions of this game for that price. I have seen a lot of copies of Sonic Generations for the Xbox 360 for $19.99 (and I almost picked up the Xbox 360 version) but I never saw the PS3 version.. Until now that is. Anyway, I’ve heard that Sonic Generations is one of the better Sonic games that have come out in the last few years.

Top Spin 4

For $9.97 I picked up Top Spin 4 for the PS3. I’m not currently that big of a fan of tennis, but I was a pretty big fan a few years ago, when Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal were in their prime and those two had epic battles. Man, I remember that crazy, epic battle those two had in the 2008 Wimbledon Final when Nadal finally defeated Federer. That was classic. Anyway, maybe Top Spin 4 can rejuvenate my interest in tennis again.

Singstar ABBA

For only $4.97, I bought Singstar ABBA for the PS3. I have a few Singstar games for the PS3 and I have the required microphones. ABBA does have a few songs that I like, so for $4.97 I think I will get my money’s worth.

Valkyria Chronicles 2

Costing $14.97, I picked up Valkyria Chronicles II for the PSP. I’m trying get into playing my PSP more often, so I’m going to be on the lookout for more PSP games I can pick up for cheap prices.

Guitar Hero 5 PS2

For $9.97, I bought Guitar Hero 5 for the PS2. According to the box cover, there’s 85 songs in Guitar Hero 5, so I’m sure I’ll find a lot of songs that I like. I have a few other PS2 Guitar Hero games, including Guitar Hero 1, Guitar Hero 2, Guitar Hero Rocks the 80s, and Guitar Hero: Aerosmith.

WarioWare DIY

The final game, costing $9.97, is WarioWare D.I.Y. for the Nintendo DS. I have really enjoyed playing the previous WarioWare games. In fact, ever now and then I still pick up and play WarioWare, Inc.: MegaMicrogames! for the GBA. Released in North America, 2010, WarioWare D.I.Y. does have some online functionality, so I am curious if these online features are still available…

Despite all those games I picked up above, I could have left this Kmart store with even more games. I had three other games in shopping cart but I ultimately decided to put those games back. One of the games I put back was Max Payne 3, which is a game I do plan on buying later.

This entry was posted in Kmart, Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

