Videogame Shopping Trip Report #12: Meijer Pickups! (Hitman Absolution, Super Paper Mario, Doom 3 BFG, etc…)

A few days ago I dropped by a Meijer store and picked up a few games. In my “Nintendo Gaming #2” blog post I mentioned that I would be buying some wii games with “Mario” in the title. Well, the first two games I picked up are wii games that do indeed have “Mario” in the title. They are Super Paper Mario and Mario Super Sluggers. Both games were $20 a piece.

Super Paper Mario and Mario Super Sluggers

I have enjoyed playing some of the previous Paper Mario games. However, from I read and heard, Super Paper Mario is more of a straight forward platformer and has less RPG mechanics than previous installments. Still, I do think that I will enjoy this game a lot.

I mainly bought Mario Super Sluggers to play with family and friends when they come over, but I think the game also has some meaty single player modes as well. It’s summer time, so you got to play some baseball, even if it’s videogame baseball (haha)!

The next three games I bought are PS3 games. They are Hitman Absolution, Medal of Honor: Warfighter, and Doom 3: BFG Edition. These three games were also $20 each.

Hitman MOH Doom 3

I remember being pretty hyped up about Hitman Absolution when I first saw the first trailer for it back in the summer of 2011 (I believe). I’ve actually never played a Hitman game before. I do own some of the older Hitman games for PS2, so I don’t know if I’m going to play the older games first or play Hitman Absolution first.

Medal of Honor: Warfighter got some pretty bad reviews when it was released last Fall and I’ve heard several gamers say some bad things about it. This ultimately led to the game selling below EA’s expectations. With all that said, this game is the sequel to the 2010 Medal of Honor game and I did enjoy playing that game. I also found the online multiplayer for the 2010 Medal of Honor game to be enjoyable as well. So I’d say there’s a good chance I will enjoy playing Medal of Honor Warfighter.

And finally, despite being a pretty big fan of FPS, just like Hitman, I have never played a Doom game before. Back in the 90’s, two of my friends were huge PC gamers and I remember them playing Doom a lot.

I have played some of the Quake and Unreal Tournament games, but not Doom. Now if I had the original Xbox back in the PS2/Gamecube/Xbox era, I probably would have played the Xbox version of Doom 3.

So it’s a good thing that Doom 3: BFG Edition not only has an enhanced version of Doom 3 with the expansion packs, it also comes with Doom I and II. Can’t wait to check these Doom games out!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

