Nintendo Gaming #2: Valhalla Knights Eldar Saga and three wii game pickups

Valhalla Knights Eldar Saga wii

I just started playing Valhalla Knights: Eldar Saga for the wii and I’m about 4 hours into it. The game is just about what I expected. The graphics aren’t the best, but I expected that. The combat is in real time – you exit a town and you encounter enemies and fight them like you would in a 3D Zelda game (not to say that Valhalla Knights: Eldar Saga is as good as a Zelda game).

So far, battling enemies isn’t too hard. However, if you die, the penalty is pretty harsh. You lose some of the items/weapons in your inventory.

I died once and it was my fault really. I was careless and wasn’t paying attention. So after dying, I lost some items, but I don’t believe I lost anything that I had equipped. Now I think that you could reload your last save and get your items back, but since it was my fault for dying I decided to take this penalty, kind of as a reminder that I needed to be more careful and pay more attention.

Despite this setback, I am enjoying this game. And I would have played more of this game by now, if I wasn’t trying to finish up a certain game that I will talk about in my next blog post.

So anyway, a few days ago I dropped by a Super Kmart. I saw that they had some wii games on clearance so I decided to buy three of them.

Metroid Kirby Drawn To Life

For $15 I picked up Kirby’s Epic Yarn. I haven’t played many platformers like this game in a while, but I use to play a lot of these type of games back in the NES and SNES days. I have heard a lot of people say good things about Kirby’s Epic Yarn, so I’ll give it a spin.

Also for $15, I bought Metroid: Other M. I absolutely loved Metroid Prime on the Gamecube. It’s a masterpiece and it’s one of those games I would give a 10 out of 10. Metroid Prime, however, was developed by Retro, while Metroid: Other M was developed mainly by Team Ninja (of the Dead or Alive and Ninja Gaiden fame) I believe. So that had made me hesitant to play Metroid: Other M, but I believe the game did get positive reviews across the board, so I’ll give this game a shot.

Now I am aware that Metroid: Other M has a game breaking bug, so I’ll try to work my way around it.

And finally, this game was not on clearance, but it was only $9.99, so I bought Drawn to Life: The Next Chapter. It’s from THQ, and it could be one of the last (if not the last) THQ games that I buy. I think this game got some pretty good reviews, but there’s a DS version of this game that got better reviews. But I think I will like this wii version.

There’s a couple of wii games I’m looking to get in the near future, and some of these games have “Mario” in the title. Hopefully I’ll get the chance to pick them up soon.

This entry was posted in Nintendo, Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

