DVD/Blu-Ray Pickups #6: Game of Thrones, Pawn Stars, Digimon, and The Dark Knight

Last week I went to a Best Buy store that is a little bit further away from my house. I was looking for some videogames but I ended up picking up some DVDs as well.

First one I picked up is Pawn Stars: Season One

Pawn Stars S1

A few weeks ago, I said that I would look to see if my local stores had any of the Pawn Stars DVDs. Well, when I saw Pawn Stars: Season One at this Best Buy, I knew I had to pick it up. The regular price is $14.99, but it was on sale for $7.99

I believe there are more Pawn Stars DVDs, but unfortunately I did not see any of them at this Best Buy except Season One. I may have to order the rest of the DVDs online.

Next I picked up Digimon Volume 1 and 2, for $12.99 each.

Digimon S1 V1 V2

Volume 1 has 21 episodes from the first season and Volume 2 has 18 episodes from the first season. I’ve never seen this show before but I’ll give it a shot. If I don’t like it, then I could always give the DVDs to my brother, who is a pretty big fan of Digimon.

As I was going up to the checkout lane, I noticed that they had The Dark Knight on DVD on sale for $3.99 (the regular price is $9.99), so I decided to get it.

The Dark Knight

I believe this DVD version of The Dark Knight has the movie only with no extra features (well, there are no special features advertised on the back of the case).

Believe it or not, I’ve never watched The Dark Knight. I have watched Batman (1989 film), Batman Returns, Batman Forever, and Batman & Robin. I’ve also watched Batman Begins, and while I do like that movie, I’m not a huge fan of it. But I have heard that The Dark Knight is a much better film than Batman Begins.

My DVD player has an HDMI port and I have it hooked up to HD TV via an HDMI cable. My DVD player displays movies and TV shows with a 1.77:1 aspect ratio on my HD TV really well, but I think it had some trouble displaying movies with a 2.39:1 ratio. I believe The Dark Knight has a 2.39:1 aspect ratio.

So as I was looking at this The Dark Knight DVD, a kind Best Buy employee came up to me and asked me if I needed any help. I asked him if he had a DVD hooked up to an HD TV via an HDMI cable and he said that he did. So I asked him if he had any trouble watching DVD movies with a 2.39:1 aspect ratio using his DVD player on his HD TV, and I don’t think he quite understood what I was asking – my fault (haha!)

Anyway, since The Dark Knight DVD was only $3.99, I decided to buy it regardless.

A few days later I was at Walmart, and I decided that I wanted to buy Season 1 of Game of Thrones. They had both the DVD set and the blu-ray set in stock. The DVD set was $34.99 while the blu-ray set was $5 more at $39.99

I was really leaning towards buying the DVD set over the blu-ray, even though the blu-ray set was only $5 more. This is because I don’t have a standalone blu-ray player. I watch my blu-rays on my PS3 Slim. As a lot of you know, I’m a heavy PS3 gamer, so I usually have a PS3 game in my PS3 console. When I want to watch blu-rays, I have to remove the PS3 game from the PS3 system first, and I don’t want to do that (haha!).

Anyway, as I was looking at the Game of Thrones Season 1 blu-ray set at that Walmart, I noticed that this blu-ray set also has includes the DVD and digital copy. So I went ahead and bought the blu-ray set.

Game of Thrones S1 BluRay

This entry was posted in Best Buy, DVDs, Movies, TV Shows, Walmart and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to DVD/Blu-Ray Pickups #6: Game of Thrones, Pawn Stars, Digimon, and The Dark Knight

  1. My brother recommended I might like this website. He was totally right.
    This post actually made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information!
    Thanks!

  2. web game says:

    Hi my friend! I wish to say that this post is awesome, great written and include almost all important infos. I would like to peer more posts like this .

  3. Usually I don’t learn post on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to check out and do it! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thank you, quite nice article.

  4. Wow, wonderful weblog structure! How long have you ever been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is excellent, let alone the content!

Leave a Reply

