Nintendo Gaming #1: Getting back into the Nintendo Wii and a few Wii game pickups

In the last two years I have mainly played videogames on two systems, the PS3 and the Xbox 360. This summer, however, I really want to make some time to play two of the Nintendo game systems that I own, the Wii and the DS Lite.

My Wii console is currently hooked up to my SD TV. A few days ago I decided that I wanted to hook it to my HDTV. So I spent several minutes looking for the HDMI port on my Wii console… only to find out that the Wii does not have an HDMI port (haha!).

All these years I always thought that the Wii had an HDMI port (haha!).

Oh well, my Wii is staying hooked up to my SD TV.

Anyway, a couple of days ago I picked up a few Wii games.  The games I bought are Valhalla Knights: Eldar Saga and Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny. Before this, I bought maybe two Wii games in the last three years or so.

Valhalla Knights Eldar Saga

I bought Valhalla Knights: Eldar Saga from Meijer for about $30. One of my friends is actually a huge fan of this game. From what I read about this game, I’ll have to play about 6-8 hours into the game before I’ll know if I’ll be able to get into the game, but if I do manage to get into this game, I think I’ll find it very addicting to play.

Rune Factory Tides of Destiny wii

As you can see from the price sticker on the cover, Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny cost $19.99 I bought it from a Kmart. From what I read about this game, I believe it’s mixture of farming sim and RPG with more of an emphasis on exploration and adventure. I have been trying to get into a farming sim game since the day I downloaded Harvest Moon (SNES) from the Wii virtual console a few years ago. Hopefully Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny will be another game I’ll get addicted to.

Speaking of the Wii virtual console, there’s a couple games that I downloaded awhile back that I plan on playing this summer. Two of them include Breath of Fire II and Paper Mario.

Breath of Fire II GBA

The Wii virtual console version of Breath of Fire II is the SNES version. While I did get the chance to get this game for my SNES back in the 90s, I passed on it and missed out. So when the game came out for the Game Boy Advance, I bought it very quickly. I have played and beaten the GBA version twice, but I do want to beat the wii virtual console version of the Breath of Fire II at least once.

Paper Mario N64

The other Wii virtual console game I want to play and beat is Paper Mario. As you can see from the picture above, I also own a physical copy of this game for the N64, but it’s still sealed and unopened. I bought this physical copy about 10 or 11 years ago at a Toys R’Us. Since I have this game on the Wii virtual console, I see no reason to open my physical copy.

This entry was posted in Nintendo, Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Nintendo Gaming #1: Getting back into the Nintendo Wii and a few Wii game pickups

  1. Trudy says:

    Hi! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to
    look it over. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be
    tweeting this to my followers! Outstanding blog and fantastic design.

  2. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep
    it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back in the future. Many thanks

  3. Valuable info. Fortunate me I found your site unintentionally, and I’m stunned why this accident didn’t came about in advance!
    I bookmarked it.

  4. I was recommended this website by my cousin. I’m not sure whether or not this publish is written through him as nobody else realize such distinct approximately my trouble. You’re incredible!
    Thanks!

  5. I just could not go away your website before suggesting that I
    really loved the standard info an individual supply in your guests?
    Is going to be again steadily in order to investigate cross-check new posts

  6. I blog often and I genuinely thank you for your information.
    The article has truly peaked my interest. I am going to bookmark your website and keep checking for new
    details about once a week. I subscribed to your Feed too.

  7. First of all I would like to say fantastic blog!
    I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your thoughts prior to writing. I’ve had
    difficulty clearing my mind in getting my ideas out there.
    I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally lost just trying to figure
    out how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

