Embarrassing Stuff I Own #5: Backstreet Boys Millennium CD

Oh boy, I don’t know how I’m going to explain this one.

If I had bought this CD, Backstreet Boys’ “Millennium,” back when it came out in 1999, I could have said that I bought it because of peer pressure (haha!).

But I actually bought this CD 2 or 3 years ago. Backstreet Boys’ “Millennium” CD does have a lot of nostalgic factor for me.

In 1998, my brother bought Backstreet Boys’ self-titled US debut CD. Most of my friends had this CD as well.

And if that wasn’t enough, most of the pop radio stations in my area would constantly play the songs from this album. They would play songs like “Quit Playing Games (With My Heart),” “All I Have To Give,” and “I’ll Never Break Your Heart” over and over.

The Backstreet Boys were starting to become real huge. It felt like New Kids on the Block mania all over again, except the Backstreet Boys would (I believe) end up selling more records than New Kids ever did.

All of this led up to that day in May of 1999 when the Backstreet Boys’ second U.S. album “Millennium” was released. I remember this day like it was yesterday.

My brother wanted to get the “Millennium” CD on the first day so badly. We managed to make it to a Media Play store sometime that afternoon and he was afraid that the store would be sold out. He had nothing to worry about though, since there were still plenty of copies of the CD at the store when we got there.

He wasn’t the only one who bought “Millennium.” Just about every one of my friends bought this CD, and most of them bought it on the first day. And the only reasons why some of my friends didn’t buy the CD is because they had a brother or sister who bought it and could still listen to it. Therefore, that meant that EVERY one of my friends (both guys and girls) was listening to this CD. I kid you not.

The “Millennium” album sold over a million copies the first week, and I believe this was the first album ever to sell 1 million copies during the first week of release. It would eventually be certified Diamond for selling 10+ million copies in the U.S. That didn’t surprise me though. I knew this record was going to be HUGE.

Everywhere I went during the summer of 1999, I could not escape listening to the songs from “Millennium.” The radio would play the songs from this CD. Anyway party or gathering I went to, there was at least one person playing this CD on a CD boom box. And then when I was at home, my brother would be playing this CD.

I also think I watched the music video for “I Want It That Way,” the first single from “Millennium,” like 500 times that summer (haha!)

Now I do like some of the songs from “Millennium,” but I never bought the CD back then, mainly because I did not see a reason to get it. My brother had it at home, and I could pretty much listen to it anytime.

Of course nowadays my brother and I are living on our own, in different U.S. States. A few years ago, I was feeling really nostalgic towards the year 1999 and I wanted to start listening to the songs from Backstreet Boys’ “Millennium” CD again.

So I called my brother up and asked him if he still had the “Millennium” CD that he bought way back in 1999. He said that he’s pretty sure he still has it. So I asked him if he could lend it to me, and he said that he would look for it and send it to me when he found it.

Well, some time later I talked to him on the phone again and he said that he couldn’t find the CD and doesn’t know where it’s at. He said that if the CD turns up, he’ll let me know.

So a couple of months go by and I’m in the music CD section of a local Walmart, looking at some CDs.  I see that they have a copy of Backstreet Boys’ “Millennium” CD for $5, and I decided to buy it (haha!).

BB Millennium Front

BB Millennium Back

Like I said, I do like some of the songs on this CD. I have a soft spot for their ballad “Spanish Eyes,” which I thought they should have released as a single. Most of my friends thought “Spanish Eyes” was the best song on this CD, as do I, so I think if they had released it as a single, it would have been highly successful.

Now that I have this CD, I do still listen to it once in a while, and I’m probably one of like ten people on the entire planet Earth who still listens to it (haha!)

Oh, and by the way, to this day, my brother still has not found his “Millennium” CD. Hmm…

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Embarrassing Stuff I Own #5: Backstreet Boys Millennium CD

  1. I appreciate, cause I found exactly what I was looking for. You have ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

Leave a Reply

