DVD/Blu-Ray Pickups #5: DVD multipacks featuring John Travolta, Jim Carrey, Halloween, Children of the Corn, etc…

Last week I was at a Walmart to pick up a few things and I ended up buying 4 DVD multipacks.

Travolta 4 pack

First up is this John Travolta 4 movie-pack, which has four of his movies: Face/Off, The General’s Daughter, Swordfish, and Domestic Disturbance. Costing about $13, this DVD 4 movie-pack was the most expansive of the 4 DVD multipacks that I bought. The other three DVD multipacks were about $7.50 each.

I have seen three of these four John Travolta movies. I actually watched Face/Off, The General’s Daughter, and Swordfish in the theater.

I absolutely loved Face/Off. It’s one of my favorite action movies of all time, and it’s the main reason I bought this 4 movie-pack.

The General’s Daughter is a ultra slick movie and can be, at times, sleazy, but I found it to be a very enjoyable movie to watch.

When it was released, Swordfish made headlines for Halle Barry’s nude scene. It’s a decent action movie, but nothing too special.

Domestic Disturbance is the Travolta film I have not seen, but since it’s included here, I’ll give it a shot.

Next up is this Jim Carrey 4 movie-pack, which includes The Mask, Dumb and Dumber, Yes Man, and The Majestic.

Jim Carrey 4 Pack

As a youngster, I really enjoyed watching Jim Carrey films in the 90s. The first movie of his that I watched was Ace Ventura: Pet Detective, and I didn’t like it at first, because I didn’t “get” the movie the first time I watched it.

But my brother loved Ace Ventura: Pet Detective and he made us watch the movie over and over again, so this movie grew on me.

However, I had a much more favorable response to The Mask and Dumb and Dumber. These two movies rank as two of my favorite comedies from the 90s.

I have seen The Majestic once, when it was in theaters, and from what I remember, it was a pretty good film.

I have not seen Yes Man, but I did watch a trailer for it and the movie looked funny.

Next I picked up this Children of the Corn/Halloween multipack. It contains 6 Children of the Corn films and 3 Halloween movies, for a total of 9 films.

Children of the Corn Halloween

I think I’ve only watched one of these Children of the Corn movies, but I have watched all 3 Halloween films collected here. The three Halloween movies are pretty good horror/slasher films, with Halloween: H20 being the best of the three. Halloween: Resurrection is one I enjoyed watching a lot also.

And finally I picked up 4-pack containing 4 family films, The Iron Giant, The Ant Bully, Kangaroo Jack, and Racing Stripes

Family 4 Pack

I mainly bought this for The Iron Giant and The Ant Bully. Kangaroo Jack is a film I would never buy on its own (haha!) and I never even heard of Racing Stripes before, but since both movies are included here, I might as well watch them.

This entry was posted in DVDs, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DVD/Blu-Ray Pickups #5: DVD multipacks featuring John Travolta, Jim Carrey, Halloween, Children of the Corn, etc…

  1. todosuecia says:

    Good info. Lucky me I found your blog by accident (stumbleupon).
    I have book-marked it for later!

  2. Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wished to mention that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your weblog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing
    for your feed and I hope you write once more soon!

Leave a Reply

