Videogames I plan on playing in February 2013 (Dead Island GOTY, Dead Rising 2: Off The Record, etc…)

Ah, the month of February – love is in the air. So of course it’s only natural that in February I plan on playing videogames…

… with zombies in them (haha!)

Yes, two of the games that I’m planning on playing have the word “dead” in the title. These two games are Dead Island: Game of the Year edition and Dead Rising 2: Off The Record. Two more games I want to play are Need For Speed The Run (Limited Edition) and Red Faction: Armageddon. All four of these games are for the PS3.

February 2013 games

I don’t know very much about Dead Island, but I believe the game got pretty much good reviews across the board. I have heard some gamers say good things about the game and I do like zombie games, so I think I will enjoy it a lot. I picked up this Dead Island: Game of the Year edition for about $19.99 at Best Buy last fall, and I thought it was a pretty good deal for the game, especially since it comes with the DLC packs (although I’m not sure if the DLC is on disc or needs to downloaded, but I guess I’ll find out soon).

The Dead Rising series has become one of my favorite videogame series on the current generation of game systems. I have played the original Dead Rising on my Xbox 360, and I played Dead Rising 2 on my PS3. I have also played Dead Rising 2: Case Zero, which is a prequel to Dead Rising 2. I really enjoy the style and game mechanics of a Dead Rising game. So when I saw Dead Rising 2: Off The Record for $19.99 at a local Kmart last fall, I knew I had to pick it up.

For those who don’t know, Dead Rising 2: Off The Record is a “re-imagining” of the events in Dead Rising 2, but this time the main character is the hero from original Dead Rising, Frank West, instead of Chuck Greene, the hero from Dead Rising 2. So the story in Dead Rising 2: Off The Record isn’t canon. Dead Rising 2: Off the Record also has a “sandbox mode,” which I’m curious to try out.

Need For Speed: The Run was developed by EA Black Box, who also developed Need For Speed: Undercover (released in 2008), which I thought was a very entertaining game, despite the bugs and freezes that the PS3 version had. However, Need For Speed: The Run looks like it’s a more well developed and stable game.

Red Faction: Armageddon may be one the last games bearing the THQ name that I will play. It’s the sequel to Red Faction: Guerrilla. I am curious to try out Red Faction: Armageddon’s online modes, so hopefully the servers for this game won’t be taken down before I get to this game.

On my Xbox 360, I’ll probably continue to play Borderlands: Game of the Year Edition, which I started playing last month. I’m about halfway through the main game (I think). I did play and beat two of the DLCs. I beat The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned and Claptrap’s New Robot Revolution. The next piece of DLC I’ll play is probably The Secret Armory of General Knox.

Xbox 360 Perfect Dark Zero and Borderlands GOTY

This entry was posted in Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

