Gamer Update #8: Perfect Dark Zero and Borderlands Game of the Year Edition

A few weeks ago I said that I did not know which Xbox 360 games I would be playing this January. Well, it looks like I’ll be playing these two games: Perfect Dark Zero and Borderlands Game of the Year Edition.

Perfect Dark Zero and Borderlands GOTY

I actually started playing Perfect Dark Zero around the Christmas holidays, when some friends and family came over and we played some local multiplayer.

Since Perfect Dark Zero is a launch title for the Xbox 360, obviously the graphics aren’t up to par with current Xbox 360 and PS3 games, but I didn’t think the graphics were that bad. However, playing this game does feel like playing an N64 game, and I mean that in a good way.

The story campaign is pretty short – in fact, most levels end quicker than I thought they would – so it didn’t take me very long to be beat the game on the easiest difficulty. I don’t really have any plans on going back and beating the game on a higher difficulty.

The story campaign can be played either in single player or in co-op via split-screen, system link, or Xbox Live. While the campaign was nothing special, there were some cool moments and cool levels. However, one level – the jungle level – was way too hard, even on the easiest difficulty.

The multiplayer is pretty fun, with a decent variety of different modes and maps. Just like the campaign, you can play multiplayer via split-screen, system link, or Xbox Live. However you can also play all the multiplayer modes and maps offline by yourself with bots, and you can customize the bots with different A.I.

The one weird and unique thing about Perfect Dark Zero is that it doesn’t have a jump button and it took me a little while to get use to this. There is a dodge button though, which can be useful sometimes. I never played the original Perfect Dark on the N64, so I don’t know if that game also does not have a jump button.

Moving onto Borderlands, this will actually be the second time that I play this game, as I have already played and beaten the PS3 version of this game about two years ago. I remember that the first 20 hours of playing the game was super addicting. However, in the last 10 hours or so prior to beating it, I kind of lost interest in the game. One of the reasons for this is that the game doesn’t have a very strong story and doesn’t have very many story elements, so during the last ten hours it felt like it was just nonstop combat.

Fallout 3 is a game that many people have compared Borderlands to, and Fallout 3 was a game that pretty much kept my attention all the way to the end, and that is because the game is very story driven with a strong cast of characters (even though most of them had the same voices, haha).

Therefore I think that two years ago  I would have enjoyed playing through Borderlands a whole lot more if it was more story driven like Fallout 3. Borderland however, does have co-op, which Fallout 3 does not, and it is fun to play through Borderlands with your friends and chat with them.

Anyway, like I said, this is my second go around with Borderlands, this time on the Xbox 360, and this time around I think I have more of an appreciation for this game. When I finished Borderlands on the PS3 two years ago, I was pretty much sick of Pandora, which is the world that Borderlands takes place in.

However, this time when I started playing Borderlands, the world of Pandora looked so welcoming and inviting. I had actually missed Pandora!  So before I knew it, the addiction to game kicked in again.

Anyway, I did not play any of the Borderlands DLC when I played the PS3 version, but as you can see from the picture above, the version of Borderlands that I have for the Xbox 360 is the Game of the Year edition, and it comes with a second disc with all 4 DLC expansion packs (early pressings of the Borderlands GOTY edition came with the DLC packs as download codes).

I am currently playing through “The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned” DLC. I started playing this DLC when I was about Level 14. This is the first time I’m playing this DLC, and I’m really enjoying it so far.

This entry was posted in Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

