Playstation Move Gaming #1: Buying a PS Move Bundle and setting it up

When Sony launched the Playstation Move for the PS3 here in the U.S. in September of 2010, I wasn’t too excited about it and I had no real interest in getting it (I also felt the same way about Kinect for Xbox 360).

I bought my wii console in 2008, and I have enjoyed playing wii games using the wiimote motion controller. However, I still prefer playing videogames using a normal controller while sitting down on my couch over playing videogames while standing up and waving a motion controller around.

Therefore, two years later, at the beginning of 2010, when I bought my PS3 game console, I never said to myself, “You know what would make my PS3 better? Having motion controllers like the wii!” (haha!)

That thought never crossed my mind.

With all that said, however, when the Playstation Move launched, I did think that if the PS Move was ever on sale for a decent price or had a price drop to a decent price, it would be worth checking out.

From time to time, I do have family and friends come over with their young kids, especially around the holidays. I think that playing Playstation Move games would something that both the adults and kids would enjoy doing together, since they have enjoyed playing my wii games in the past.

I don’t remember how much the Playstation Move controller and Playstation Eye Camera cost by themselves when the Playstation Move first launched, but I do remember the bundle with Sports Champion costing around $100, which I thought was too expensive.

That was two years ago.

Now, two weeks before Christmas 2012, I was at a Best Buy store and I saw that they had a great sale on the just recently released Wonderbook: Book of Spells Playstation Move bundle. The current regular price for this bundle is about $80, but it was on sale for $39.99 at Best Buy. And since this was the bundle, that meant that it came with the Playstation Eye Camera and a Playstation Move controller.

All for $40! I thought this was a great price for it, so I bought it.

Book of Spells PS Move Bundle Front

Book of Spells PS Move Bundle Back

For those who don’t know, Wonderbook: Book of Spells is from the mind of J.K. Rowling of the Harry Potter fame. Now I wouldn’t say that I’m the biggest fan of J.K. Rowling, but I am a fan. I have enjoyed reading the Harry Potter books and watching the movies.

I have seen the commercials for Wonderbook: Book of Spells, and it made the game look pretty cool. It’s probably something that a Harry Potter fan would enjoy playing.

Anyway, when I first starting setting up the Playstation Move in my living room, I have to admit I was a little worried that it might be complicated to set up. It’s been 4 years since I bought my wii and set it up. I don’t remember how long it took me to set up my wii and I don’t remember if it was a complicated process.

In the end, I really had nothing to work about. It took me less than 30 seconds to set up the Playstation Move. I have the Playstation Eye Camera placed under my HD TV (you can also place it above the TV). The Playstation Eye Camera plugs into one of the PS3’s USB slots. The Playstation Move controller syncs to my PS3 when I press the home button on the controller while it is connected to my PS3 via a USB cable.

Now, you are advised to charge your Playstation Move controller first prior to using it. However, just like a PS3 Dualshock 3 controller, you can use the Playstation Move controller while it’s charging, but that is highly not recommended due to injury concern.

Also, just like the PS3 Dualshock 3 controller, you can charge your Playstation Move controller by connecting it via a USB cable to your PS3 or to a PC.

I haven’t had the chance to play Wonderbook: Book of Spells yet. The first Playstation Move game I played is Carnival Island, which I also bought at that Best Buy. It was only $10.

You’ll get my thoughts on Carnival Island in my second “Playstation Move Gaming” blog post, which I will post soon.

Stay tuned…

This entry was posted in Best Buy, Playstation Move, Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

