Driving in the snow

Two days ago we had a pretty wild snowstorm. On that day I wish I could have driven home earlier in the afternoon, when things weren’t so bad, but it was dark outside by the time I was able to leave. It was snowing really bad when I got to my car in the parking lot. And I had to drive through all this snow in order to get home.

When I was 16, I took a Drivers Ed course at my local high school, and while taking that course I really wish there was some way that they could have simulated driving in the snow. I took this Drivers Ed course during the summer time, so obviously there was no snow.

Yes, my driving instructor did talk about driving in the snow, and yeah, there are some common sense things that you should and should not do while driving in the snow. However, nothing anyone says about driving in the snow can really prepare you for it. You won’t know what it’s like to drive in the snow until you actually do it. I would soon learn this when winter came around a few months later.

The important thing about driving in the snow is to never be in a hurry. Give yourself plenty of time to get to your destination. This is because you may need to drive much slower than you usually do. On a really bad snowy day, I would wake up in the morning about an hour earlier than I usually do. This usually enabled me to get to work on time.

Back to two days ago… there are certain things that you can not do while driving in the snow… like you can not take that turn so quickly. Which is what some wise guy (or gal) did while I was driving home in snow. He/She spun out of control. This happened some distance in front of me. Thankfully it was a big road and there weren’t many cars driving that night. So he/she was able to regain control of his/her car without hitting anyone and no one got hurt. I did manage to make it home safely.

Still…, despite this incident, despite the slow driving and the stress of driving in the snow, there is something almost magical, something beautiful… about driving on a night where the sky is lit up by snowfall and there is a fresh layer of snow on the ground.

Snowy Road 2

Happy Holidays everyone!

This entry was posted in Snow, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

