American Idol Season 3 Memories

I missed out completely on watching the first season of American Idol. When Season 2 got started, some of my friends and co-workers started talking about this show a lot. It had become one of their favorite shows and they were addicted to it. This really made me want to watch American Idol, but it was now about 3 weeks into Season 2 and if I was going to watch this show, I wanted to watch it from the first episode of the season.

So when season 3 premiered in January of 2004, I made sure that I would be able to catch the first episode, which as many of you already know, contains some of the singing auditions for the show. Season 3 ended up being my favorite season of American Idol.

I also watched all the episodes in season 4 and enjoyed that season a lot as well, but sadly season 4 would be the last season of American Idol that I would watch. Which is a shame, since Chris Daughtry from season 5 is probably my favorite singer to come from American Idol.

I’m really hoping that they release the individual seasons of American on DVD or blu ray, as I would love to watch Season 3 and 4 again and also watch some of the other Seasons that I missed. But it’s looking like this will never happen, perhaps due to licensing issues with the music used in the show.

But anyway, here are my thoughts and memories of some of the memorable singers/contestants from my favorite season of American Idol, Season 3. The pictures of the singers that I show below are from the American Idol Card Game that I talked about in my last blog post (“Embarrassing Stuff I own #4: American Idol Card Game”)

Note: I believe these cards were produced before the Top 32 finalists performed on the tv show, so there are no pictures of George Huff in these cards because he was not originally a Top 32 finalist on the show. He replaced Donnie Williams when Williams was arrested for DUI. Huff did put on some really good and memorable singing performances.

Matt Metzger

This guy has the good looks and a memorable name, but other than that I don’t remember very much about him.

Amy Adams

She is memorable for the fact that she shares the same name as the actress Amy Adams (who starred in the 2007 Disney movie “Enchanted”). However, when season 3 of American Idol was airing, the actress Amy Adams was still pretty much an unknown, so the singer Amy Adams was probably the more well known Amy Adams at the time.

Katie Webber

I thought she was the sexiest singer out of all the contestants from Season 3, and for that reason alone I wanted her to succeed and make it far in the competition (haha!). She actually does have a pretty singing voice though, in my opinion.

Matthew Rogers

Now here’s a guy that I thought has a great voice, a very soulful singing voice. Because of this, I thought he would make it much further on the show than he did (he was the second of the twelve finalists to be voted off). The week he was voted off, he sang Lonestar’s “Amazed” and I thought he did a great job with that song. Simon Cowell thought otherwise and he criticized his performance (I think Simon said he could have used a better song selection, or something along those lines), but like I stated, I thought he did a great job.

John Stevens

At first I wasn’t too big of a fan of his. His singing style is that a crooner and he auditioned in American Idol singing a Dean Martin song. This style of music is not something I listen to very much. However, as Season 3 went on, he grew on me and I ended up rooting for him to make it far.

Camile Velasco

She is perhaps most remembered for her amazing performance of Brian McKnight’s “One Last Cry.” This performance, hands down, was the most memorable singing performance from Season 3, for me. It was a very powerful performance. I think I saw some members of the audience shedding a tear and I might have shed a tear myself as well. It was truly an incredible and unforgettable moment.

Jasmine Trias

This adorable young lady is from Hawaii. She had a great camera presence, and she put on really nice performances. She was just a joy to watch on the show, and she finished in third place.

Diana DeGarmo

While she is very talented, I think she surprised quite a few people by finishing second to the winner Fantasia Barrino. She has a good singing voice and I thought she would do well after American Idol. She has only released one album called “Blue Skies” and I don’t think it sold very well.

Jennifer Hudson

She is perhaps the most successful singer to come out of Season 3. I remember her seventh place finish on the show was shocking to a lot of people, who felt she should have made it further. After American Idol, she went on to win an Academy Award for Best Supporting Actress for her role in the 2006 film “Dreamgirls.” Her song “Love You I Do” from that film’s soundtrack won a Grammy. She has also released two albums.

La Toya London

She is, in my opinion, the best singer in Season 3, and I thought she should have won the competition (that is, of course, if my favorite singer from Season 3, who I will talk about below, didn’t win). She put on some really great performances, but she finished in fourth place, which I guess, is not that bad.

Fantasia Barrino

She is the winner of Season 3. While she is a talented singer, I’m not that big of a fan of hers. Like I stated above, I thought La Toya London should have won the competition. With that said, I thought Fantasia put on a fabulous performance of Abbie Mitchell’s “Summertime”. That was definitely my favorite performance of hers on the show.

William Hung

Perhaps the most famous – or rather, infamous – person to come out of American Idol Season 3 is none other than William Hung. I’m sure everyone who watched Season 3 remembers his audition, in which he butchers Ricky Martin’s “She Bangs.”  He became so popular for being such a bad singer that they brought him back later on in Season 3 in a special episode called “Uncut, Uncensored, and Untalented”. Amazingly, after American Idol, this guy didn’t just release 1 album, he released three albums!!!

Jon Peter Lewis

Jon Peter Lewis (later referred to as JPL) is my favorite singer from Season 3, and I started rooting for him to win the competition from the very first minute he showed up on the show. He has a great singing voice, but perhaps his biggest appeal is that he looks like a regular guy. He doesn’t have super model good looks – he looks like a normal guy who lives in your neighborhood, has a regular job, works hard, and you might hang out with him sometime. So okay, I’ll admit, he does have a nerdy look to him, but it’s a handsome nerdy look.

Even Simon Cowell was rooting for him. Despite calling him a “pen salesman”, Simon said he had a “very, very good voice” and also said that Jon could be “the dark horse to win this competition.”

I was very sad to see JPL get voted off the show – in fact, the week he got voted off he sung Elvis Presley’s “Jailhouse Rock” and I thought it was one of his better performances – he was singing and he had some awesome dance moves!!!

After American Idol, he has done a few music-related things. He currently has a music video “Break The Silence” on youtube, in which you can hear his great singing voice. I hope he puts out more music.

This entry was posted in Music, TV Shows and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

