Videogame Shopping Trip Report #9: Kingdom Hearts PSP, Transformers WFC, AC Brotherhood, & Dragon Quest Monsters Joker 2 (and I also watched The Avengers)

Last week I had a few relatives and family members in town visiting me for a couple of days. We didn’t do anything too special, but we had a nice time together (for the most part, haha).

Last Monday, May 7, 2012, my cousin arrived at my house at a little after 5 pm, and one of the first things she did was she gave me some videogames that she had bought for me. About 2 months ago, she was at a Kmart store in her area that was closing down soon, and this store had put their all their videogames on clearance for 50% off their regular price.

So she called me on her cell phone from the store and asked if there were any games that I wanted. She patiently went through this Kmart’s entire videogame section and she told me the title of every game they had. There were three titles that caught me attention. I told her to buy those three games for me and I would pay her back at a later date. The three games that she bought for me are: Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood for PS3, The Tomb Raider Trilogy for PS3, and Dragon Quest Monsters Joker 2 for the DS.

Because of the 50% off sale, Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood cost $14.99, The Tomb Raider Trilogy cost $19.99, and Dragon Quest Monsters Joker 2 cost $17.99

I have Assassin’s Creed 1 and 2, and I was looking to pick up Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood, so I thought $14.99 is a great price to pay for a new copy of the game.

I do have the original Dragon Quest Monsters Joker on the DS. I bought it for about $15 at a Kmart. I was also looking to pick up the second game, and I wasn’t sure if I would be able to get it for $20 (or under). So I’m glad my cousin found it for $17.99

The Tomb Raider Trilogy contains three Tomb Raider games: Tomb Raider Legend, Tomb Raider Anniversary, and Tomb Raider Underworld. Tom Raider Underworld was actually already released as a standalone game a few years ago, and I do have it and I played and beat it. I might give or trade this game to a friend or relative. I have not played Tomb Raider Legend and Tomb Raider Anniversary.

At that Kmart, my cousin also bought a game for herself. She bought Deus Ex: Human Revolution for the Xbox 360, and after 50% off the game cost $19.99

My cousin also gave me a copy of Kameo: Elements of Power for the Xbox 360, and it’s the fourth game that you see in the picture above. She didn’t buy this at a Kmart, she bought it at a Walmart store. She was at a Walmart in January of this year I believe and she looked through the clearance videogames. She called me and asked if I wanted any games. When she mentioned that there was a copy of Kameo: Elements of Power for $10, I told her to get it for me.

So my cousin gave these games to me and I paid her. A few minutes later, more of my relatives, including my brother, arrived at my house. When it was almost 7 pm we all decided to go out to dinner. There were 6 of us now and we headed to a Red Robin restaurant that was really close to where I live.

The next afternoon, at about 5 pm, we decided to check out the local mall. Before arriving at the mall, we stopped by a Kmart store that was close by. Of course, I checked out their videogame section and ended up buying three games. I picked up Muramasa: The Demon Blade (wii) for $19.99, Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep (PSP) also for $19.99, and Witch’s Wish (DS) for $14.99

Muramasa was always a wii game that I wanted to get, and I wasn’t sure if I would ever find it for $20. So when I saw it for $19.99 I knew I had to get it.

I’ve heard great things about Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep. I believe game reviewers have said that it’s one of the better Kingdom Hearts games. Birth by Sleep is also notable for being a PSP game that was released to UMD only and there is no downloadable version of this game in the PSN store. I am big fan of the Kingdom Hearts games and I look forward to playing this game.

Witch’s Wish is a cute little, light hearted adventure, maybe action RPG-type game. It’s a game I’ll play when I want to take a break from the hardcore FPS I play.

At the mall, we checked out a few stores. The first store we went to was Sears. I was hoping that I would be able to find some great deals on games but while they did have quite a bit of games in their clearance bin, except for one game, there was nothing I really wanted.

The one game I did buy from that Sears was Transformers: War For Cybertron for PS3. I’m a huge Transformers fan, and I believe, according to game reviewers, Transformers War For Cybetron is one of the better Transformers videogames that came out in the last few years. So I had wanted to get this game for a while now. However, I never saw this game in stores that often, and the cheapest price I ever saw it for was $39.99 at a Meijer.

I think a few online retailers are selling the game for around $20, but I really wanted to go to a store to get it. I had just about given up on the notion that I would ever see this game in stores for under $40 and I was just about to order it online, so when I saw it for $24.99 at this Sears, I knew that I had to pick it up.

Note: The $24.99 price tag sticker was located on the side of the game case and can be seen in the second picture below.

This Sears also had maybe three copies of the original White Knight Chronicles for $12.99 each. I already have this game, otherwise I would have instantly snatched it up, especially for that price.

That’s it for videogame purchases. We did go into a videogame store called Game Play, and this store is a total rip off of GameStop. This Game Play store sold new and used games, and just like Gamestop, they had shelves of empty game cases to display the games. They also sold more older, retro games. I saw a bin of used NES carts. The prices on those NES carts seem to be overpriced but I kind of expected that.

After checking out a few more stores we grabbed a bite to eat at the food court and then we went to see the new Marvel superhero movie The Avengers. The movie theater I guess was technically a part of that shopping mall, but you had to exit the mall in order to enter the movie theater, as there is no entrance to the theater in the mall.

I thought The Avengers was a really good movie. I’m glad that Samuel L Jackson as Nick Fury had a more expanded role. There were some really funny, “laugh out loud” jokes, but there were also a few jokes that didn’t work. I do wish that Captain America had more good fight scenes, although he did have a really cool solo fight scene against Loki. Captain America is not only my favorite Avenger, he’s one of my favorite superhero/comic book characters of all time. I did read a lot of Captain America comics in my youth. Overall, I had a great time watching The Avengers.

After watching the movie, we went back to my house and finished the night by playing Left 4 Dead on my Xbox 360. We had a blast playing the game. It was a great way to end the night.

This entry was posted in Kmart, Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Videogame Shopping Trip Report #9: Kingdom Hearts PSP, Transformers WFC, AC Brotherhood, & Dragon Quest Monsters Joker 2 (and I also watched The Avengers)

  1. charlsxavi says:

    quiero dragon quest mnster joker 2

Leave a Reply

