Gamer Update #6: Call of Duty Black Ops and Bulletstorm

In today’s gamer update, I’ll talk about two FPS games that I recently beat, Bulletstorm and Call of Duty: Black Ops. I played both games on the PS3.

Bulletstorm is a FPS that plays quite different from most FPS. In this game you are scored every time you kill an enemy and you’re meant to kill enemies using a variety of skill shots to give you multipliers and increase your score. Getting higher scores will make the game easier for you, since you use these points to buy new weapons, upgrade them, and buy ammo.

The single player campaign features an entertaining story with some cool characters. With the exception of a few areas, playing the game on the hardest difficulty level isn’t very hard, especially if you’re a veteran of FPS.

While Bulletstorm does have online multiplayer, it does not have the traditional competitive game modes found in your typical FPS game. There are no deathmatch-type game modes. Instead there are two online game modes: Echoes and Anarchy.

In Echoes you can play by yourself or with co-op partners. Basically your goal is to run through a map/level and score as many points as you can. Once you finish the map, you can compare your score with leaderboard or with the people on your PSN friends list.

In Anarchy Mode, again, you can play by yourself, but it’s better to play with a few co-op partners (you can play with up to 3 partners). In this mode, you will face waves and waves of increasing enemies and you have to kill them all. This mode also has a level up feature. I’ve heard this mode is similar to Gears of War’s Horde Mode (I’ve never played a Gears of War game though)

New copies of Bulletstorm do come with online pass, but it’s not required for online play, perhaps due to the fact that Bulletstorm does not have the traditional online competitive game modes. The online pass does give you a headstart in Anarchy Mode, giving you enough experience points to start you at Level 5 (I believe). And I also believe it also gives you an extra weapon.

Bulletstorm was a very fun game for me to play, especially when I got on a roll with the skill shots. I will probably replay the single player campaign again someday. However, for most people, unless you can find Bulletstorm really cheap, I would recommend a rental with this game. The single player campaign can be beaten in 5-6 hours (you can probably beat it in less time than that if you’re good at FPS).

Moving onto Call of Duty: Black Ops, before this game I wasn’t sure if I would be able to get into the game. I really enjoyed Modern Warfare 2, but that game was developed by Infinity Ward. Black Ops is developed by Treyarch, and the last Call of Duty game developed by Treyarch that I played is World At War, which is a good game, but I didn’t really like it that much.

So when I started playing Black Ops, it was pleasant surprise that I immediately liked it and I ended up having a very enjoyable time playing it. Black Ops has some really cool levels and battles that were very memorable. The game has a neat story that kept my interest throughout the game. Zombies Mode from World At War returns here, and it’s still very fun to play. So while I liked Modern Warfare 2 a lot, but I like Black Ops even more. I will definitely replay Black Ops again in the future.

In the end, if I really thought about it, I guess I shouldn’t be too surprised that I ended up liking Black Ops. Before playing this game, I did watch a few trailers for it that made the game look really cool and really interesting. And the main reason why I didn’t like World At War is because by the time I played it, I was really sick and tired of World War II shooters. Nowadays, if I want to play a WW II FPS, I would replay the original Medal of Honor on PS1 or Medal of Honor: Frontline on PS2.

This entry was posted in Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

