Gamer Update #3: Breath of Fire Dragon Quarter (6 hours)

About a month ago, I stated in my “I want to fall in love with my PS2 again” blog post that I wanted to start playing Breath of Fire: Dragon Quarter and see if this game would get me back into playing my PS2 again. Well, about four days ago I finally got started on this game and I’m about six hours into it.

And man, I’m very glad to say that I’ve gotten pretty addicted to this game!

The game reminds a little bit of Persona 3, although it plays nothing like Persona 3. Perhaps this is because there’s really cool anime cutscene that plays when you first boot up the game.

The game has cell shaded graphics and they look great! Thus far, other than the cutscene I mention above, all the in-game cutscenes use the in-game graphics engine. With the exception of a very few Japanese voices, there is no voice acting during the cutscenes and all the dialogue is handled by text in speech bubbles.

There are save points in the game, but you can only save at these save points if you have a save token. You are given one save token at the beginning of the game, and I believe you are also given a save token every time you do a restart. You can also find save tokens in the dungeons but there aren’t very many (thus far, I’ve only found one save token in the dungeons).

Because of this, you can do a temporal save anytime you want if you need to stop playing the game. However, every time you load up this temporal save file, it will get deleted. When you start playing the game again, you don’t have to load this temporal save though, you can load from your previous save point.

As I stated before in a previous blog post, in Breath of Fire: Dragon Quarter, you’re meant to restart the game several times. There are two types of “restarts” you can do – You can restart from the beginning of the game or you can “restart” from your previous save point. Certain things carry over when you restart, such as your weapons, skills, party XP, and zenny (money).

You can do a restart at any point during the game, but if your entire party gets wiped out during a battle, you will be forced to do a restart. However, doing a restart that results from dying will halve the party XP and zenny that you carry over, so sometimes if you find yourself low on health and are out of healing items, it’s better just to do a manual restart rather than continue on and dying.

An addicting factor in the game for me is that as you keep restarting the game, you’ll unlock cutscenes that you won’t see during your first playthrough. These cutscenes serve to “fill in the gaps” of the story and help flesh out more of the storyline plot.

Now to be honest, prior to playing this game if I had not known that you’re meant to restart the game multiple times before beating it, I would probably not enjoy the game very much.

Heck, I probably would also have been disappointed if I approached it as a regular Breath of Fire game. I think this game was originally supposed to be called Breath of Fire V: Dragon Quarter, but Capcom smartly dropped the “V” from the title, since this game is very different from previous Breath of Fire games.

Anyway, I can’t wait to play some more Breath of Fire Dragon Quarter!

This entry was posted in Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

