Videogame Shopping Trip Report #6: Dragon Age II, Kingdom Hearts, Yakuza 4, and Final Fantasy XIII (more $19.99 Games at Kmart and Walmart)

Last week I decided to go to a local Super Kmart to check out their videogames. It had been several weeks since I last shopped at a Kmart, so I was curious if this Super Kmart had dropped the prices on any of their videogames. Sure enough, they had dropped the prices on several games.

After spending some time looking through these games that had gotten price drops, I ended up buying three games for $19.99 each, all for the PS3: Yakuza 4, Dungeon Siege III, and Final Fantasy XIII.

I had been looking for Yakuza 4 for a few days now. Once I saw that this game for $19.99 at this Super Kmart, I knew I had to buy it. Yes, I am aware that you could probably get a brand new copy of this game a bit cheaper elsewhere, but I think $19.99 is a good price for this game.

I have played the first Yakuza game on the PS2, and while that game got repetitive at times, I really enjoyed it. I also have Yakuza 3 (PS3), which I bought in 2010 from a Toys R’Us, but I have not played it yet. The only games in this series that I do not own are Yakuza 2 (PS2) and the newly released Yakuza: Dead Souls (PS3).

I’ve seen some gameplay footage of Dungeon Siege III, and it looked like a fun hack n’slash RPG-type game. For $19.99, I’ll give it a shot.

I already have a copy of Final Fantasy XIII for the PS3 that I played and beat (and I have an unopened one for Xbox 360). However, one of my friends is collecting sealed copies of this game, both for the PS3 and Xbox 360, and this sort of made me want to go buy a sealed copy for myself. It’s been a long time since I intentionally bought a game to keep it sealed, but once I saw this non-Greatest Hits copy of Final Fantasy XIII for PS3 for $19.99 at this Super Kmart, I decided that I would get this and keep it sealed. Why not? (haha)

In addition to these three games I bought, they had Dead Space 2 (PS3) for $19.99 and Dragon Age II (PS3) for $17.99. I was seriously considering buying both games, but I decided to pass on both games. Dead Space 2 was tempting, since, not only have I heard my friends say that it’s one of the best games that came out last year, this PS3 version also comes with Dead Space Extraction. With that said, I still may end up buying Dead Space 2 sometime in the future.

They also dropped the prices for Bulletstorm and Just Cause 2 for PS3 to $19.99 each, but I already have these two games.

Two days later, I went to a Walmart to buy some household items, and while I was there, I dropped by the videogame section. I decided to buy two games, both for $19.99: Mafia II (PS3) and Kingdom Hearts Re:coded (DS).

As you can see in the picture, the Mafia II game that I bought is the red case, Greatest Hits version, but I wanted to get this version anyways, since it comes with all three DLC packs (I believe one DLC pack is exclusive to PS3). I thought that $19.99 is not only a good price for this game but it’s even better price when it comes with all the DLC. This is just a great value.

While I loved Kingdom Hearts I and II on the PS2, and I do have the other DS Kingdom Hearts game, 358/2 Days, for some reason I had kind of forgotten about Kingdom Hearts Re:coded. This was a game I always planned on getting, so I’m glad I was able to get it, and I’m also glad that I got it for $19.99 as well!

After I left that Walmart, my mind somehow kept drifting towards Dragon Age II. One of the reasons why I passed up on Dragon Age II a few days ago was because I thought there would be an ultimate edition or Game of the Year edition for this game that would include all the DLC content. After all, EA did release an ultimate edition for Dragon Age Origins, so I figured they might do the same with Dragon Age II. However, it’s been about year since Dragon Age II was released and there has been no mention of any ultimate edition, so it’s looking more and more likely that an ultimate edition won’t be released for Dragon Age II.

I wanted to get this game and thought that $17.99 was a great price for it. There was a Kmart store really close to this Walmart, so I decided to drop by there to see if they had the game. Sure enough, they did have it, so this time I bought it. They also had a copy of Dead Space for PS3, and for the second time that week I decided to pass on it. But like I said above, I still may end up getting this game in the future.

Anyway, I got in line at the cashier. I wanted to quickly pay for Dragon Age II and leave the store but unfortunately that didn’t happen. It was late evening, perhaps close to closing time, and this was a small Kmart store. There was only one guy working at cash register and one shopper in front of me. It was an older lady (mid-40s?) and she had like 50 items that she was going to buy. When I got in line, she had gotten about 10 items out of her shopping cart for the cashier. And man, did she take her time taking the rest of her items out her shopping cart. I was thinking sarcastically, “Lady, can you move any slower?” (haha) The cashier took his time as well, so when he finally got to me and rang up my game, I was, naturally, a bit pissed. However, I’m glad I was able to buy this game.

Dragon Age II does have an online pass, which supposedly expires by the end of this month (March 31, 2012). I’ve heard reports that people have had trouble using their online pass codes for this game, so I’m crossing my fingers hoping that my online pass code will work. Wish me luck, everyone!

This entry was posted in Final Fantasy XIII, Kmart, Videogames, Walmart and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Videogame Shopping Trip Report #6: Dragon Age II, Kingdom Hearts, Yakuza 4, and Final Fantasy XIII (more $19.99 Games at Kmart and Walmart)

  1. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It actually was once a enjoyment account it. Glance advanced to far brought agreeable from you! By the way, how could we keep up a correspondence?

  2. Hiya very nice site!! Guy .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your website and take the feeds also?I am happy to seek out numerous helpful info here within the submit, we want work out extra strategies in this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

  3. I simply couldn’t depart your website before suggesting that I actually loved the usual information an individual supply for your guests? Is gonna be again frequently to investigate cross-check new posts

  4. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I to find It really helpful & it helped me out much. I’m hoping to offer one thing back and aid others like you helped me.

  5. Wow, superb blog format! How lengthy have you been blogging for? you made running a blog glance easy. The overall look of your site is wonderful, let alone the content!

  6. You must have perfect timing. I was looking for an article on this same subject. Your post is such an exquisite article. The extensive detail and information fit the bill. http://www.samsung1080phdtv.net/

  7. It’s really a great and useful piece of info. I’m glad that you just shared this helpful info with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  8. gamekey says:

    It’s really a cool and useful piece of info. I am glad that you just shared this helpful information with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  9. LikeUb says:

    I like the valuable information you supply for your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and take a look at again here frequently. I’m rather sure I will be told many new stuff proper right here! Good luck for the following!

  10. nootropics says:

    Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was searching for!

  11. Identified your article very exciting indeed. I really liked reading it and you make pretty some great details. I will bookmark this web site for that foreseeable future! Relly excellent content.

  12. Have you ever considered about including a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is valuable and everything. However just imagine if
    you added some great pictures or video clips to give your
    posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and
    videos, this site could undeniably be one of the best in its field.
    Superb blog!

Leave a Reply

