Latest Gaming Pickups Part 2: One Night, Two Stores, Three Games

When you’re searching for a particular videogame, and it takes you a long time to find it, there’s a lot of satisfaction when you are able to finally track down that game. You feel like all the frustrations and hardships you endured while you were out looking and hunting were worth it when you finally hold that long sought after game in your hands.

But sometimes it’s also very satisfying when you are able to go find a game you’re looking the first time you go look for it. And today’s story is about just that.

One night a few weeks ago, at the beginning of January 2012, there were three games that I wanted to buy. And there were only two stores that I had planned on heading to on that particular night. Of course, if I had failed to find these three games in those two stores, I would have probably gone to a few more stores…

The first store I headed to was Best Buy. I was there during Black Friday of 2011. In fact, this was the same Best Buy that I bought Final Fantasy XIII (Xbox 360) and Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (PS3) from that I mentioned in a previous blog post. During that Black Friday I saw that they had Catherine for the PS3 and it was on sale too, for $39.99

Looking back on it, I definitely should have picked up Catherine during Black Friday but I didn’t. Since it’s an Atlus game, I wasn’t sure if Catherine would ever drop in price again and I was afraid that Catherine may become harder and harder to find in the coming months, so I decided that I wanted to get a copy of it now, before it was possibly too late.

So I went to that Best Buy and saw that they had two copies of Catherine for the PS3. The price was $59.99 but I decided to pick it up anyways and to be honest, I didn’t really mind that I paid full retail price for this game.

The next store I headed to was Walmart. I had played and beaten the Fallout 3 (standard version) on the PS3, and I absolutely loved it. Fallout 3 is definitely one of my favorite games of this current gen. However, the PS3 version of Fallout 3 suffers from various technical issues such as bad slowdown/frame rates and multiple crashes/freezes the further you get into the game. There were 5 DLC packs released for Fallout 3, and all 5 DLC packs were included in the Fallout 3 Game of the Year edition that was released later on. I heard reports that playing this DLC content on the PS3, whether it was downloaded from PSN or from the Game of the Year Edition, makes the freezing issues worse. However the Xbox 360 version of Fallout 3 supposedly has very little of these technical problems, even if you play the DLC.

So even though I have the standard version of Fallout 3 on the PS3, I wanted to buy the Game of the Year version of  Fallout 3 for the Xbox 360, because I love the game so much and wanted to play the DLC. I remember seeing this Fallout 3 Game of the Year version for $19.99 at a few Walmarts a couple of times, so when I got to that Walmart on that particular night, sure enough, they had a copy of it for $19.99, so I bought it. I thought $19.99 is a great price for it, since as I stated before, it comes with all the DLC.

And the final game I was looking for was Dead Rising for the Xbox 360. I already have a copy of Dead Rising (platinum hits version) and I have played and beaten the game. Dead Rising is currently my #1 favorite game of the current gen systems, and perhaps one day I will blog about why this is.

Anyway, a few weeks ago, I was at a different Walmart and I saw a copy of Dead Rising for $10. This was the platinum hits version. I didn’t think too much about it at the time, but as the days and weeks went by, I thought that since Dead Rising is my favorite current gen game, it would be nice to have a sealed copy of the game, especially if it only cost $10. I use to collect games and kept them sealed but I haven’t done this for the longest time.

So I decided that I wanted that sealed platinum hits version of Dead Rising. And I was very fortunate that on this very night, at this Walmart where I would buy Fallout 3 Game of the Year Edition for Xbox 360, I also saw a platinum hits Dead Rising. And it was $10. So I bought it and I’m keeping this one sealed.

Yes, I know that this is the platinum hits version that I’m keeping sealed, but like I said, it’s only $10. One day I would like to look for a sealed copy of the original, non-platinum hits version of Dead Rising, but I’ll only get it if I don’t have to pay too much for it. However, right now I’m very satisfied that I have this sealed platinum hits version of Dead Rising.

What a great night it was. There were just two short trips to two stores to find three games and yet I found it very satisfying that I was able to find everything I was looking for the first time I looked for them. It was memorable night just for that.

This entry was posted in Best Buy, Videogames, Walmart and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

